Wednesday, December 31, 2008

Moving on up?

Well, usually silence signifies that I'm not doing so well.. But actually, I've been doing really well this week. My plan was just to eat as many fruits, vegetables, and whole grains as possible.. So that I'm too full to eat anything else. I'm trying to stay away from processed stuff. Here's what my meals have looked like:

Breakfast: Banana, fat-free yogurt (Yoplait Key Lime Pie is the best!)
Snack: Apple
Lunch: Grilled chicken, black beans and salsa on a whole wheat wrap. A small salad with cucumbers, bell peppers and fat-free dressing.
Snack: Low fat string cheese or hummus with a few whole wheat crackers
Dinner: Chicken and two vegetables, sometimes another small salad.

I think it's working because these are foods I like anyway. I'd eat that wrap any day. I'm trying to stay away from "diet food".

But exercise is a horse of a different color. That's where I usually lack motivation until I get into a routine. I bought two workout dvd's I thought I would like. Right now they are still in the plastic. Sad, I know. But yesterday after work I finally decided I wanted to exercise. But my dad was home. I can't be jiggling around to a Tae Bo dvd with anyone watching. TRUST ME. So I decided to go on a walk instead. :) I walked briskly for an hour on the trails that go behind the neighborhood.

It felt good! There were a surprising number of people running in the evening. I wanted to go longer but it gets dark super early. Every time I heard a rustling in the bushes, I thought a rabid animal was going to jump out and attack me. So maybe I'll stick to walking in the daylight.

Well, I'd love to stay and chat.. But I have to go get ready for my walk. As Rachel would say.. Chao!

P.S. I almost forgot! I weighed myself this morning and I'm down about 8 lbs. since I last checked. :)

Sunday, December 21, 2008

Michelle is The Biggest Loser!


I LOVE Michelle and I'm so happy she won! She looked gorgeous at the finale. :) She's such an inspiration to me. Watch the final moments here!

Thursday, December 04, 2008

Winter Weight

Winter is the season of fresh baked cookies and hot chocolate- not the season of carrot sticks and Tae Bo. It's hard for me to get motivated to be healthy when it's freezing cold and dark at 6:00 p.m. Alas, my "I'll start tomorrow" mentality has gotten me nowhere. So I decided to start today.. again. I went to the grocery store last night to buy all my staples to help keep me on track. I know my downfall is when I don't have the right go-to foods to fall back on. That's when I want to go to fast food because it's quick and easy.

And because you know you can't visit this page without reading my attempts at humorous blogging.. I had a funny experience at Bi-Lo last night.

My cashier looked and sounded EXACTLY like the clearly Southern & gay Daniel from Shear Genius on Bravo. For your visual pleasure:



His supervisor was handing him some change he had evidently asked for before I got in line. Picture a saucy Southern black woman.

****

Supervisor: That should be 20 dollas.

(Cashier starts counting change)

Supervisor: Don't count yo' money in front of a customer! Ring her up first THEN count it!

Cashier: Geeeeez... Sorryyyyy. (To me:) Is she still staring at me?

Me: Yeah, a bit.

Cashier: Gah! I hate when she does that. Ooh! Do you like this cranberry juice?

Me: Yeah, it's my favorite kind.

Cashier: I been lookin' for a good cranberry juice. (Holding up a roll of nickels.) How much is this?

Me: Two dollars.

Cashier: Really? (Counting his change.) $18, $19, $20, $21..... Gah! She's such an iiiidiot! And IIII'm gonna be the one who gets in trouble for being $1 over. Ooh! You got coupons! Honey, you saved $7.84 today! That's fabulous!

****
I just wish you could have heard it with the accents and everything. Call me if you want a little rendition.

So anyhoo... I had my oatmeal for breakfast... Even though my boss offered to get everyone Chick-fil-a... Chick-fil-a?!?! My weakness. Sigh. Somehow I resisted. Then I had grapes for a mid-morning snack. Turkey on whole wheat with mustard for lunch and a cheese stick. Just had a pear for an afternoon snack... Why is it when people know you're dieting they purposely try to tempt you? "Oh come ooooon... It's just one cookie! It won't kill you!" I read an article one time in Prevention magazine about how women do that subconsciously (or maybe not so subconsciously) because they want to look better than their friends/peers. Not gonna work today, ladies!! And tonight I will be having pizza for dinner... It's a Thursday night ritual after Sam's gymnastics! I'm sorry, but I will never be the type of person to completely cut out foods. Clearly, I have an issue with moderation--but I know that's key.

Will I fall off the wagon again? Probably. But I feel good about today. :)