Tuesday, February 23, 2010

New York was amazing! For your viewing pleasure..

The lovely Sandra. Fit right in @ the Hungarian bakery! The Mexican baker might have had something to do with it..


New York at dusk.. From the Brooklyn Bridge





Me at Serendipity. I won't even tell you what I had there!






Me in Times Square






Brooklyn Bridge






Me on the Brooklyn Bridge






A cute one of me, if I do say so myself.






Central Park - covered in snow!






Sorry, Sandra... Best pic EVER! On the ferry to Ellis Island. Just a bit windy up on the third deck. :)




In our teeny, adorable hotel room.. Scarf on, ready to go!






Columbus Circle... Time Warner Center in the background. Kind of artsy, no? ;)






We went to the American Museum of Natural History... I couldn't help but think of Night at the Museum the whole time.. Say hi to Rexie!






Time Warner Center - Lots of fancy shops!







My fave pic of me... I think I look skinny. ;)


Doing Tread & Shed after work today! Eek! Back to the grind..

Friday, February 12, 2010

Leavin' on a Jet Plane

Well, I lost another 2 lbs. this week. So that's a total of 14 lbs. I AM happy with that, but I can't help wishing it would go faster! I knooooow, that a 1-2 lbs/week weight loss is what's recommended.. I guess I've been ruined by The Biggest Loser and their huge numbers every week. :)

Maggie sent me a great website that breaks a lot of things down for you about weight loss. It's SUPER LONG.. like practically a book. But she writes in a very simple way.. which I thought I wouldn't like at first, but I ended up gleaning some good info. For example - I have not been eating nearly enough protein every day. Anyway, check it out if you're feeling frisky. :) http://www.acaloriecounter.com/weight-loss.php#section1

I'm SO ESSITED (as Ruby would say)! Tomorrow we're going to the Irish Festival in Savannah. I haven't been in years! I'm really looking forward to it. Sunday I'm picking Eileen up from the airport. And then Tuesday after work I have to leave for ATL because... WE ARE GOING TO NEW YORK ON WEDNESDAY! I'm really excited! I will take tons of pictures. :)

Speaking of Ruby, the new season starts Sunday on the Style Network. Set your DVR! Here was a good interview with her too. I love Ruby and the words she makes up. hehe http://www.parade.com/health/2010/02/09-ruby-gettinger-ready-to-lose-weight-and-face-life.html

Well, that's all for now. Not sure when my next post will be?? Jet-setter that I am. ;)

Tuesday, February 09, 2010

Friday, February 05, 2010

The Gladiator

Well, I only lost 2 lbs. this week. BUT I'm not going to get upset about it because I know it's because of my monthly visitor. I'm still down 12 lbs. in 3 weeks. So that ain't bad. I also need to make sure I'm getting in enough protein.. Because with all the working out I'm doing, I need it!

Speaking of which, I haven't told you all about The Gladiator at the gym. He's always there on the nights I go. I don't like huge, beefy guys that look like they can barely walk because of their bulging thighs. But I do like big arms. This man, I swear... He has the most perfect arms I've ever seen. But the rest of him is lean, not too beefy. So while I'm dying on the treadmill, it's nice to take a gander. He's always doing that pull-up weight machine thingie. And as Maggie pointed out, he KNOWS his arms are great because he's always wearing a sleeveless shirt. hehe And his little gloves. I think he's cute face-wise.. I've just been too engrossed in his fabulous, manly arms to look at much else. I'm pretty sure The Gladiator caught me gawking the other day. Oh well. It makes my workout a little more bearable. :)

I'm hoping for a good number next week! I still need to "train" for the Bridge Run.. Eeek! Next weekend we're going to Savannah for the Irish Festival (Yay!) and then the week after that is our New York trip! I'm so excited! I bought a few shirts a couple months ago in anticipation for NY. And they didn't *quite* fit when I got them. They were a little snug. But they fit now. :) I'm also super pumped about my pedi after work! Ahhh....

Thursday, February 04, 2010

Gaucho Girl

I have been asked to update! :)

Things are still going well. I MADE myself go to the gym Monday after work even though I had totally talked myself out of it. So I was happy that I didn't go back to old habits. Tuesday was Tread & Shed. The INSANE instructor had us take turns doing push ups on the floor and then on the treadmill. That gym floor is NASTY. I don't want to even think about all the other people's sweat droplets combined with gunk from the bottoms of their shoes that I was touching. When I got up, there were black speckles all over my hands. Maggie had to give me a wet wipe to help avoid a freak out moment. And I'll have you know, that was Tuesday, it is now Thursday and my arms & shoulders are still sore. Even my armpits! And I've recently added "side boob" to the sore list. haha You know what I'm talking about, ladies.

Oh, forgot to mention - we did go shopping on Saturday. Finding workout clothes was a bust... I really don't mind being short. But it makes finding pants difficult. And finding workout pants is even MORE difficult, seeing has how I haven't been able to find any "petite" sizes. Target has a pretty big selection... However, the pants were all way too long on me. And the only carpi's I found were really wide legged so they looked silly. Who wants to be rockin' the treadmill in gaucho pants (A.K.A. COOLATS!)?? I don't want to be known as "Gaucho Girl" at the gym.

We went on to Dick's Sporting Goods which was also a bust. They said they weren't a big enough store to carry larger sizes. Whatever. Dick's is sizeist! Add them to the list of places to ban, along with Ann Taylor Loft. :)

Even though I couldn't find anymore workout clothes, I did find three really cute dresses that fit well. I wore one last night, in fact. I decided to wear my Spanx too for the full effect. I had to have lost AT LEAST a pound just getting into them, I swear. But I think the overall effect was nice. And I wore my new black, peep toe sling backs. :) They're pretty saucy.

Ooh, and tomorrow Maggie and I are getting a luxurious SPA pedi! How does this sound:

Paradise Pedicure (60 minutes)
The ultimate pedicure begins with a tea tree soak, followed with sugar scrub exfoliation, a lustrous foot & calf massage, a dip in our warm paraffin bath, and topped off with sugar souffle lotion.

Ohhh, yeah. I guess this is sort of my reward to myself for doing so well! Although, I must admit the scale hasn't budged much this week. I think on account of my monthly friend. But I will not get discouraged because I know I'm doing everything right! :)