Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Jeepers Creepers

Well, we had a good weekend in Columbia at the convention. We ate healthy for breakfast and lunch but went to dinner every night. Ughhh.. The food was so good but so bad. It did a number on my stomach! The final straw was the Chinese buffet on the last night.. I really thought I might vomit when I got home. One too many crab rangoons.. I was so ready to start back on my diet on Monday. The bad news is I gained about 5 lbs. in Columbia. I don't know how it's possible to gain 5 lbs. in one weekend, but I did. I'm sure it'll come off though!

Interesting tidbit... I got hit on by no fewer than 4 creepers last weekend. Most of them were older, portly gentleman. Eww. I suppose I should be flattered, but no. They were just gross. And one of the contenders had a tracheotomy tube thing in his neck.. I kept staring at it as he was hovering over me creepily. Another old man grabbed me and pretended to know me from somewhere. Thankfully, the friend I was standing with gave him a series of dirty looks that shamed him into skulking away. I mean, seriously. I think I look about my age... So did these 40-50+ year old men really think they'd have a shot with a girl in her 20's? Get serious. I'm not that hard up. The one young guy was SO dorky... bless his heart. He was in a short sleeved white dress shirt with high waters, glasses, and his cell phone clipped to his belt. I suppose I could have thrown him a pity bone, seeing as how he was the least offensive of all my suitors... but nah.

On the bright side, I wore three new dresses in smaller sizes that fit well. And I know I looked cute. :) My hair and makeup looked pretty good, if I do say so myself. The only casualties are my pinkie toes... due to the confines of my heels. And then there was the afternoon jaunt to Starbucks that I knew I would regret on my already blistered trotters.. I hoofed it three blocks there and three blocks back, limping all the way. My pinkie toe on my left foot might need to be amputated, but man, that was a tasty frappuccino..

Monday night I walked in the neighborhood. It's actually quite scenic. I walked out of the town homes and into the neighborhood.. and then picked up one little loop of the trail that goes around a pond and up some stairs. And then I came back out to the neighborhood and walked the main circle. I did that twice. I was like 1.56 miles. Not too bad for just walking. I was glad I did it.

Last night we did Tread & Shed. I kinda wanted to ralph, but controlled myself. I think it's the running on the treadmill manually thing that does it to me. Blech. After a quick shower, we went to see Karate Kid. I really liked it. But it was a long movie and we were SO stiff when we finally stood up!

Okay, that's all for now. Happy Hump Day! :)

Wednesday, June 16, 2010

Hmm...

Nothing all that exciting to report today.. I just felt like I owed you all a post. :) Tread & Shed was last night. It's so hot in the gym! They had fans going.. but none were blowing my way, so a fat lot of good that did. My back was covered in sweat, as usual. The kids won't hug me when we pick them up after the class because I'm so sweaty. haha Sometimes Rachel forgets and starts to hug me and then goes, "Oh, no!" and shakes her finger at me. hehe

Ugh, speaking of hot - It's been sooo hot here! The humidity is killing me! And my pretty hair.. We're going to Columbia this weekend. It's supposed to be like 92-95 degrees all weekend. Greaaat.. At least I have cute, new dresses to wear. :)

I'm so ready for my Florida vacation in July! I need a break from this place... Going to the movies tonight with Maggie & the kids. :) And then I need to pack tonight! You know I wait until the last minute... ;) Okay... toodles for now. Beware of tiny Asian women eyeing your pants.

Friday, June 11, 2010

New Haircut!


Cute! One of my new tops. :)




Oh, no you didn't!

Short Pants

Well... I lost another lb. So that's 32 lbs. total. I'm glad I LOST a lb. instead of gained a lb. but I'd be happy if it was moving along faster! I do need to add in another day or two of cardio. I think because on Tuesday - Thursday I'm rushing to the gym after work or home for meeting.. I feel like Monday is my only day to run errands and go to the grocery store. So I just have it in my head that I can't go to the gym on Monday. BUT as Maggie suggested, I could walk in the neighborhood instead. That way I can still do my errands after work and not have to rush. I can walk another day on the weekend too. I guess I have just strictly been thinking "gym" and feeling like I don't have time for that on the other days! I just need my earphones and I'll be good to go. :)

I think I'm going shopping after work! I thought I got rid of all my baggy clothes, but apparently not. I wore my trusty blue shirt to work today and it's too big.. I was looking mostly for pants when I went shopping, but I guess I need some new tops. So I see shopping in my future!

The gym was good last night. Even though I accidentally wore short pants. I had bought these Reebok pants awhile ago and they were too small.. So I just had them in my closet. Well, they fit now! But I guess I tried them on with no shoes.. Because with tennis shoes, they are short pants. I think they would be capri's on a person of normal height.. But yeaaahh.. It was slightly embarrassing BUT Maggie said they made me look thinner. We decided it might just be an illusion because they're short pants... But I'll take it! Oh, something sad/funny. When I was putting them on, I noticed the tag. They're XL.. but it said the Asian size would be 5XL. hahaha That's so sad. You could fit five little Asian women in my pants?! I was just happy not to be in a plus size.. and then I was shot down by Reebok's Asian sizing. Why'd you have to go and burst my bubble, Reebok?!

Well, happy Friday! Have a good weekend. :)

Sunday, June 06, 2010

Another Race Under My Belt

I did it! My goal was to do it in under an hour and not to be last.. And I accomplished that, so I'm happy. I will always want to do better with my time.. But I suppose that can be worked on.

First of all, let me say that the website LIED about the course.. It is a qualifying race for the Peachtree Roadrace, which is intense. So that should have been a clue. But the website says: "The course is mostly flat and very fast with only one small hill." Lies! We got to the first hill and I thought.. Oh, sweet! This must be the "one small hill." Then we get to another hill and I'm like... What the French toast?! There were multiple hills. And it was an extremely hot day. I think it was a combination of the two that did me in.

At one point, I was running with my earphones.. And a lady who was next to me waved hi. And I'm like.. Uh, hi. And she motions for me to take my earphones out. Since everyone mistakenly thinks they know me from somewhere, of course it would happen again during a 5k in Buford, GA. The lady was like, "Are you Destiny's mom?!" Umm... For one thing, Destiny better be an infant. How old do you think I am?! Rude. Back off lady, I'm in the zone! So she trotted off...

There were also some interesting folks along the course.. It went through a residential area in downtown Buford. An old man was out in his driveway in a powder blue bathrobe & a coffee mug. He was just getting his paper and waving and talking to everyone who went by. STRANGE. Someone asked if he was a flasher. haha NO, thank goodness.

There were also people who had registered to walk and not run. I guess the walking course was more like 1.5 miles whereas the running course was 3.1 miles. So I get to a fork and man says "Walkers to the left, runners to the right!" The finish line is looming just to the left for the walkers! I have to admit, for a split second, I almost decided to say "See ya, suckers!" and veer left.... But my conscience got the better of me and I went right... The last stretch was a doozy.

Let me just say.. I am no runner. Yes, I do Tread & Shed and I'm in much better shape than I was a few months ago. But I'm lugging like 100 more lbs. than everyone else up these hills in the extreme heat. It's hard! I always feel like I could have done better afterwards. But in the moment, I was doing the best I could.. People kept passing me. And every time I turned around to check, there were less and less people behind me. Finally, I come down a hill and the guy tells me I just have to go around the curve and then it's a straight shot to the finish and that I'm doing great.

So I pick up the pace and start running again. Then I see the 3 mile marker and I know I only have 0.1 miles to go. I went down one more hill towards the finish line. There was only one group of a few people behind me.. But as I started to get closer to the finish line, everyone is standing on the sidewalk cheering loudly. Like literally everyone. Hundreds of people. And then I hear, "Go, Lizzie!" It was great to hear everyone cheering me on. But when I heard my friends & family, that was the extra boost I needed to cross the finish line. They met me at the end, and I think we ALL got a little teary eyed! It feels great to finish something like that!

Props to Maggie, Sam, Sandra & Consuella. I think we all did great. :)

Me and Sam before the race. Sans makeup!

Me & Maggie. She's teeny! I'm... working on it.

Friday, June 04, 2010

Jersey Sweat

I don't really want to blog..... But it's Friday. I lost ONE lb. One stinking lb.

I'm headed to Atlanta this weekend. We're doing a 5k in Buford on Saturday morning. If anyone else wants to Run the Rails, come on out! I'm kind of worried about what my time will be. A normal person's time would be around 30-ish minutes. I'm scared mine will be more like an hour... I'd be happy with under 45 minutes. But I'm not holding my breath. I hope I do okay! At least I'll have a spiffy new outfit to wear.. I found 3 workout shirts while I was cleaning my closet. They're brand new with the tags that didn't fit before! I've been saving the blue one (my favorite color) for the race. So that's somewhat comforting.. If there is any comfort to be found in running 3.1 miles for the "fun" of it.

I did Tread & Shed last night. Jersey Shore was to my left. He opted to just run instead of doing leg lifts & walking lunges n' such. Guess they don't do those in Jersey. Ginger Gladiator came up to tease him about taking Tread & Shed. RUDE. Ain't nothin' girly about running and sweating your butt off, sweetheart. You should try it sometime. When we turned to the left to do leg lifts on that side, I saw that the left side of MY treadmill was covered in Jersey Shore's dripping sweat! I think I threw up in my mouth a little. So gross. He could have been flinging it on me the whole time! In fact, I'm pretty sure I had to have ended up with some of his DNA on me. SO gross. He wiped up his own treadmill after class, but not where he had soiled mine. Like I wouldn't notice. Eww. Note to self: Stay away from Jersey Shore next time. Wait, that was already a rule, wasn't it?

Oh, we did see Salt & Pepper though! That was probably the highlight. He was on the elliptical in front of us. I was just watching those legs go... And I ran on a 6.0 last night! For like 20 seconds. Ha. I swear, that's like super fast for my little legs. About as fast as I can handle.

Ooookay, well that's about all. I'm wearing my glasses today so I'm kind of headache-y and blah. I'm excited to see some family this weekend. I hope someone notices a difference in me!

Tuesday, June 01, 2010

Let's Talk About Sweat, Baby

I just got home from the gym. I worked harder than a one legged man in a butt kicking contest. I'm happy I was able to wear a new workout shirt from my closet that used to be too small! But my ENTIRE back was covered in sweat when I looked in the mirror at the gym. I don't know what possessed me to take, much less POST, these pics. I guess as proof that I am working hard. And I'm feeling rather candid at the mo. Ha.

Okay, not too bad. You can see a little neckline sweat & your general pit sweat. Fairly normal. It gets better.


Now, the back. I don't think you can even tell how sweaty it is at the top too. Waaaait, the best is yet to come.

Boob sweat! Now WHAT is up with that? And it's always only one boob. Bertha, to be exact.


And now you know my sweating oddities. Aren't you glad? I'm headed to Atlanta this weekend. And running in a 5K with Maggie & Sandra! Go, me! Toodles for now.