Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Sick & Tired of Being Sick & Tired

Hello, adoring fans. Well, as Maggie will tell you, I have been working out again for about a week now. But I was also majorly lacking motivation. Well, people, wait no more. I have found it. There are a few reasons, but I'll start at the beginning.

When Jenny came to visit, we did some shopping at Towne Centre in Mt. Pleasant. Now, if you don't know Jenny, she is wonderfully petite and adorable. She has lost a lot of weight and gives me hope that I can be "petite" one day too. (I am half way there, being 5'2". NO, I didn't round up to 5'3" as usual, so get off my back.)

Anyway, Jenny wanted to pop into Ann Taylor Loft to check out a sale. As soon as we entered the store, sure, I realized I couldn't get my left ankle into anything there. But I didn't mind perusing the racks with Jenny. So the sales lady comes up to Jenny and totally ignores me. My Pretty Woman moment in the dress shop! She will only speak to her and can't even look me in the eye. And then I see her giving me a snide look from afar as she slinks to the other side of the store.

You know what, Retail Harpy, I'm sorry I'm not middle aged, making minimum wage in my last season's Marc Jacobs knock-off flats. And for all YOU know, I could be buying a gift card or buying a must have accessory or two. Well, just you wait. When I'm skinny, see if you see my PETITE behind in Ann Taylor Loft! To quote the movie, "The War" - I can go on a diet and get skinny, but you'll always be uuuuuggg-lyyy. So there, you condescending shrew.

Moving on. Coupled with the Ann Taylor Loft incident of '10, I've had another revelation. I deserve to be happy. That might seem like a silly, simple concept to some of you. But for me, and for plenty of other overweight people (Just watch The Biggest Loser), it's a tough one. People can tell you all day long you're pretty, you're worth it, you have great hair (Okay, I don't mind that one).. but unless YOU believe it, none of it matters. I think it's the same for people who have eating disorders or drug addictions. You think you're not worthy of being happy, so you abuse your body... because WHO cares?

I'm not going to let other people hold me back anymore. And more importantly, I'm not going to hold myself back anymore. I am sweet, 'ol Liz who takes crap from everyone. I am just expected to do things for everyone because that's who I am. I am expected to not only take everything that is thrown at me, but do it with a smile. I don't make waves. I don't pout if I don't get my way. I don't put myself first.

Well, guess what... Lizzie just took her earrings off. It's on like Donkey Kong. I will go Bon Qui Qui on you faster than you can say King Burger. I am the same person underneath that I always was. I do things for people because I love them and because I don't mind taking care of others. But even I can only be pushed so far. I am going to hold my head high and put myself first for once. I am going to shed the self-loathing skin I've been living in. I am going to make time for the gym. I am going to put myself out there and be confident. (Because maybe one day I'd like to not have a barren womb.) And I am going to lose the weight because for the first time.. maybe ever.. I believe that I deserve it.

Sure, it's kinda scary thinking about being 26 and single. I want a lot of things for myself and my future. But I will never have those things if I'm not happy and secure with myself. And as a simple suggestion to my readers... Please join me in my ban against Ann Taylor Loft. I would rather hem every pair of pants I buy by hand than shop their petites section!

Last night, I took a 3 mile walk with Maggie on the trails. Today I walked the Mt. Pleasant Pier at lunch. After work I am going to gym to do the Tred & Shed class (eek!). And tomorrow I am walking (see: gasping for air on) the Bridge with Renee after work.

I know I will go out to eat. I know I will indulge in New York next month. But I also know that I feel free and relieved. And I think that will make all the difference. :) Thank you to my TRUE friends who inspire me every day.

9 comments:

Jennifer said...

Liz, that was so awesome to read. I love you for writing it! I can relate to so much of what you said...brought tears to my eyes. :o) You absolutely, 100% deserve to be happy. I'll keep my thoughts about the Ann Taylor lady to myself. Not appropriate for here! lol

Liz said...

haha Ann Taylor will not be getting any of my dollas. :) Didn't mean to make so many people cry! lol But I think this is def. a turning point for me. :)

the Mom said...

Hey, somehow I missed this post until today. Once again, I must say your choice of words and humor are FAB. The paragraph that starts out with taking your earrings off had me laughing out loud! I am your fan and rooting for you, in the banning of A.T.L., etc...of course, but I really enjoy your writing. One day these Napoleonic Dynomitaic "skills" will pay off. No doubt. In the meantime, PLEASE keep the paragraphs coming. And, yes, sorry to say, there HAS to be a "pivotal" (is that spelled correctly?) moment in our lives when "we are not going to take it anymore!" and if it took an unintelligent snippy sales person to do that well, there it is. As a "zen" person would say, perhaps? "We can grow from that". Hah....but I say, keep the FIRE burning! Keep yourself in the front! Keep that anger and it WILL burn calories and be a great motivator.

Liz said...

Oh yes, there's anger. haha Not just the sales lady but CERTAIN OTHER PEOPLE who I'm not going to let hold me back anymore. And WHO KNEW anger turns into motivation? :)

It's like the Chihuahua movie... "We are small but mighty! No mas!" haha

Unknown said...

No mas !!! ROTFL

Aren't you glad I figured out how to comment on here again (I had forgotten my password). ANYWAY - keep it up girl. And I will stay out of Ann Taylor too :o)

Liz said...

You know I love the comments!

the Mom said...

Yikes! I don't want to be your angry person motivator!!! But, if it's working...and yes, anger is a great incentive as long as your results are CONstructive and not DEstructive. That's how nice and quiet, walked on people (and chihuahuas) are, finally they must yell NO MAS!!!! Hurahhh!

Cindy said...

Hey Liz, I am glad you are writing again! I missed you! I have had the week from you know where and just reading halfway through this first recent blog I was already laughing!! I really needed to laugh! Thank you! Also, I will join you in your ban of Ann Taylor! Thanks for sharing your adventures you are AWESOME!!!!!

Liz said...

Thanks, Cindy! Glad you're reading! :)