Sunday, March 28, 2010

Living to Tell About It

Favorite Quote of the Day: " I don't know where my boobs stop and my torso begins." ~Me trying to pin my bib to my "torso" as the instructions stated.

Favorite Moment of the Day: Tossing paper cups on the ground after I chugged water.

The Bridge Run was awesome! I'm so glad I got to do with Eileen, Maggie, Jennifer, Renee, & Sandra. :) I was terrified! 33,042 people finished. Ed & Heba from The Biggest Loser were there. We saw people dressed up in all sorts of costumes. The dude dressed as a champagne bottle was actually surprisingly fast. There were a few banana costumes, a hotdog, brides & grooms, lots of tutus & striped knee socks, fairies, etc. It was exciting! Oh, and it was FREEZING when we first got there! As soon as we got in line with tens of thousands of other bodies, you could immediately feel the body heat though. Kinda gross, but we welcomed it at that point.

Once the race began, it took almost 15 minutes for us to even get up to the start line because there were so many people! We decided to split up and each just do our best. I started off jogging. Adrenaline is an amazing thing.. It was about two miles until we got to the bridge. It was neat to go over Shem Creek and RUN by things I usually drive by. Once I got to the bridge I walked up the incline. At about the two mile marker I saw a lady getting medical assistance. I guess she was about to pass out. At about the two and a half mile marker, there were medics ready with a stretcher.. I thought about taking a dive at that point so I could get carried away myself.

Getting to the top of the bridge felt great. I started to get semi-emotional at mile 4. I was thinking.. I'm really doing this! I'm choosing me! Walking down the bridge was exhilarating. I had to pee sooo bad and at the bottom of the bridge were some porta potties. The line was HUGE though so I refused to stop. I was still worried about coming in last, so I thought... At least I'll be ahead of all the porta potty people. I knew some of my own peeps were ahead of me.. And SOME of them have weak bladders. So I was half hoping one of them would be in line and I could WHIZ BY (pun intended) and be like.. Peace out, sucka!!

I felt like I had been walking for waaay more than a mile after we got off the bridge and into downtown Charleston and I hadn't seen the 5 mile marker yet. I thought maybe I just missed it and might be further along. I saw a mile marker coming up and thought... This is it! Mile 6! Only .2 to go! But sadly, it was only mile 5. Mile 5 started to get painful. My hips started to hurt really bad and also my feet. I really had to push myself at that point.

The local hobos came out to support the runners. Nothing like a crackhead telling you, "YOU GO, GIRL! ONLY ONE MILE TO GO! YOU HAVE COME TOO FAR TO QUIT!" You are right, sir! Hobo high-five! Also, the volunteers at the water stations were sooo nice, I have to say. They were very encouraging and they were cheering us on. I looooved tossing my cup on the ground after I chugged water. Hey, if I'm dying here, I should at least be offered the small luxury of being able to litter freely.

There was a funny incident... All of us girls agree.. There are an inordinate amount of hot cops in Charleston. Love it. Anyway, this creepy, goth kid was walking beside me. He asked a cop if the Church's Chicken was open as we passed. (I was very excited to see the Church's landmark because I knew I was nearing the end.) The cop told him no, but the KFC across the street was open. The kid explodes and says, "F*** KFC! I WANT CHURCH'S! I'M DOING PRETTY GOOD HERE FOR A FAT KID!" hahaha The hot cop told him to beat it. *Side note: Maggie spit her water out on Eileen in the car when I was relaying this story after the race. hehe

For the last half mile, an old man was walking with me. He said we were almost to the finish and I said I didn't want to be last. He was like, "Look behind you, honey! There are thousands of people back there! You're far from last." I was like.. Aww! He's right! I could FINALLY see the finish line! I sucked it in and tried to look attractive for my photo that will appear online later. Then I picked up the pace and jogged across the finish line.

It felt so good to finish! My entire body was throbbing at that point. My neck, back, shoulders, hips, shins, knees, ankles, feet, and toes hurt. Oh, and my head. They still hurt actually. Ha. Afterward, there were refreshments and music in Marion Square for the runners. My free bagel made me really happy.

I mostly walked and jogged some, so I was just hoping to get under 2 hrs. My time was 1:55:49. Mission accomplished! I'm still not sure my lower back & hips will ever be the same.. But it was worth it. :)

Friday, March 26, 2010

Impending Doom

The Bridge Run is tomorrow. O..m..g.. WHAT have I gotten myself into?! I must say, I enjoyed the Expo yesterday though to pick up our packets. There were all kinds of samples, freebies, & fluorescent workout wear for sale. I was fine until I got my actual bib with my number on it.. and then the harsh reality set it. I AM GOING TO RUN/WALK 6.2 MILES ON SATURDAY?! What?? Who does that?? Crazy people, that's who.

The lovely gentleman giving free wine samples helped to soothe my nerves. Chardonnay? Yes, please. There were beer samples too, but I figured I'd better stick with the wine. I got many, many drink mix packets for bottled water. So PLEASE let me know if anyone wants some.. I also got a sweet re-useable grocery bag, a frisbee which I promptly gave to my nephew, a couple bottles of water from New Zealand (I don't ask questions), a pack of Pop-Tarts, wildflower seeds, coupons, one tiny bag of pretzels, one temporary tattoo, spice/seasoning samples, some dubious "chocolate" from Atkins, oh and a mini cheese biscuit that was consumed onsite. Not to mention my t-shirt and bag with the race logo. Not too shabby.

I'm trying not to think about tomorrow too much.. I'm as ready as I'll ever be. In case this is my last post.. Thank you, readers. You've been great. I bequeath my purse collection to Sandra & Maggie, to be split evenly.

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Gorilla Feet

Okay, I cannot walk the bridge without coming upon some sort of oddity. At the top, Renee and I saw a barefoot guy taking a rest. And I thought.. Good grief! How can anyone walk the bridge barefoot? And then he proceeds to put these THINGS on his feet that had toes.. and.. Well, just look at the picture.





We were like... Did that really just happen? The only way I can describe them is that it looks like he had gorilla feet! And then on the way down.. We saw this tiny girl running up in them too! I'm simply baffled. Why would you want to run around with gorilla feet? They looked like they were missing the other half of their gorilla costumes.


So I looked up their website. Bee-zarre. And they ain't cheap! Sounds like a bunch of dirty hippies to me..

"Remember going barefoot as a child? It’s the way you first discovered and conquered your world—without the constraint of shoes. Or the sense of duty you acquired later on.



Now you can experience that same physical and visceral sensation in Vibram FiveFingers—the only footwear to offer the exhilarating joy of going barefoot with the protection and sure-footed grip of a Vibram® sole.


FiveFingers footwear connects you to the earth and your surroundings in a way that is simply not possible in conventional shoes. It puts you in touch with the earth beneath your feet and liberates you to move in a more natural, healthy way. FiveFingers stimulate the muscles in your feet and lower legs to build strength and improve range of motion. Our customers report an increased sense of balance, greater agility, and visibly improved posture.

Choose from a variety of designs to cover the wide range of activities you would rather do barefoot—everything from fitness training and yoga, to running and trekking, to kayaking and sailing. Discover a level of performance and a connection to your environment that is positively without peer."


Oh, and I happened upon this gem in their FAQ section.. Haha.


"CAN I WEAR FIVEFINGERS IF I HAVE WEBBED TOES OR SYNDACTYLY?Unfortunately the design of FiveFingers does not accommodate webbed toes or Syndactyly. We are unable to make custom FiveFingers to fit specific foot needs. "


Well, I just don't think I want to buy a product that can't accomodate my webbed feet!


Renee and I walked 3.2 miles yesterday. The bridge run is in two weeks! I think I can? I think I can...



P.S.... Apparently, these are a big deal! I found this pic on their fanpage on Facebook! These people got married in theirs! FRIGHTENING!

Friday, March 12, 2010

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

At laaaast...

Okay, I know it's been a long time since I've blogged. I've been told that an angry mob is forming as I type. Fear not, readers. I am here.

Well, usually my absence denotes diet disaster. However, I have to say I have been pretty good as of late. We went to Myrtle Beach last weekend.. And I did indulge in too many coconut rum infused fruity drinks. But we worked out at the gym in the hotel one day. That's got to count for something, right?

I've just been trying to get myself in bridge run training mode. It is fast approaching. March 27! Eek!! Renee and I walked the bridge on Monday after work. 4.2 miles! (According to Renee's somewhat faulty pedometer. ;) It tries to cheat you half a mile.) We saw some interesting characters up there, as usual. We saw a young guy running toward us in what appeared to be boxer shorts. As his ghostly white legs came into view, we saw that not only were they very short boxers - but boxers with hearts on them. He seemed to be carrying his pants as he jogged. He was running with a buddy. Our best guess was that he lost a bet? Who knows. There are all kinds of weirdies on the bridge. No high fives from ginger cadets this time! Although there was no shortage of strapping cadets with chiseled jaw lines.

Yesterday I did tread & shed with Maggie at the gym. We had a substitute instructor who kinda sucked.. But I still managed to burn close to 500 calories. I plan on taking the class again on Thursday, of course.

As far as weighing in, I've kind of been afraid to! I had maintained my weight when we got back from NY, which is a plus. But after that I didn't weigh myself for over a week! I don't know why.. Just afraid. So as of this morning, I am down a little. But I will reserve my official number for Friday, as usual.

Well, I hope that will tide you people over for awhile. Leave comments! I love them. :)