Friday, January 30, 2009

It's tricky

Hello dear readers.. and lurkers. Well, I did join the gym on Monday. I like working out in the ladies only section. Not really to avoid the men, but just because it's quieter and there are less people. Plus, from my perch on the elliptical machine, I have a birds eye view of whatever class is going on.

Monday night was Turbo Kick. A teeny, saucy Latina woman and her even teenier daughter were the instructors. We were about to leave the gym when the class started. All of a sudden Run DMC's "It's Tricky" started blaring and I could tell Maggie was getting into it. She convinced me to stand in the back of the class and join in for a few minutes. It was like kick boxing but a little more dance-y. Lots of booty shaking. I know Maggie enjoyed the triple jump back. It's hard to explain the moves. Tricky, even.

Tuesday night I spied on the Zumba class in progress. It's like a cardio workout based on Latin and other dance moves. I might consider doing that class sometime. Although I have NO rhythm whatsoever. I'm not just being modest either. No offense to my sisters, but none of us inherited the ability to dance well. It's just not in the genes. Can rhythm be learned? I'm not so sure. But it looked fun anyway.

I don't even know WHAT to call the class that was going on last night. The instructor was this kooky, hippie lady. They were doing like tribal dance moves 'n such. I felt like I was watching "The Lion King" on Broadway. And she kept saying things like, "Feel the music!", "There's no right or wrong way!" I beg to differ. Ahem. And then she had them gyrating on the balance balls. They were told to get into the position like you're having a baby and push. Not sure what kind of physical benefits that provides.. Different strokes for different folks, I guess.

In any case, I'm enjoying the gym and I'm glad I joined. I push myself a little harder each time. I've definitely built up my endurance and am able to do things for longer. Oh and Maggie helps. As I told her, she thinks she's Jillian from The Biggest Loser. I know I'm in trouble when I want to quit and she shrieks, "ELIZABETH!" Although she hasn't told me not to get off the treadmill unless I'm bleeding or dying yet. Tomorrow is another day.

And now for my big news. It has been one month since I got back on track with my diet and exercise. And as of this morning I have lost SIXTEEN LBS! ::stirring the pot::

I'm going to take this moment to pat myself on the back. Yes, it has been hard. But it's not impossible. For me anyway, the most important thing is planning ahead. I pack my breakfast, lunch, & snacks the night before. When I buy a package of something, I portion it out into single servings so I'm less likely to eat the whole thing. I have fruits and vegetables coming out of my ears. And yes, I allow myself the occasional treat. Who can give up carbs or sweets for their entire life? That's just not realistic.

I look better but more importantly I feel better. And staying on track is even becoming.. you guessed it.. less tricky.


Recent pic of moi

6 comments:

DanaCarreraDesigns said...

Excuse me, I beg to differ on the rhythm part. I am a FABULOUS dancer. I know you don't know that, as per your previous post, some things can be hidden due to being inhibited by perceived looks or circumstances. But, fabulous none the less. So, I would assume that you inherited dance from me; surely. Yes, you do "feel" the music. And, we come from a long line of Magyar dancers. My Grandfather would attend all night Hungarian dances in Cleveland and dance the night away until the leather soles of his shoes wore completely thru. You DO have a fabulous dance gene; find it!
It's true exercise CREATES energy, it does not sap it. So, continue on at the gym, explore the classes and take Maggie as your Jillian. Wish I could watch that interaction! And, congratulations, you have made good choices in habits to follow regarding food selections and excercise and it is all paying off in health and weight.

Liz said...

I don't know if polka dancing counts..

Anonymous said...

OMG - you described the gym perfectly. Last night was definitely my fav ... the African dance ... don't forget the zebra doo-rag the instructor was wearing! That was the best! LOL LOL Anyway - I'm glad to have you as my FRIEND @the gym ... & everyone needs someone to give them a kick in the rear from time to time ... even if you're vomiting or bleeding! LOL

Anonymous said...

OH ... & how could I forget. SIXTEEN POUNDS!! That is sooooooooooo awesome!!! I've seen you sweat it out this past week @the gym ... we sure do sweat in ODD places, don't we? LOL LOL LOL

Anonymous said...

Liz as your cousin I am telling you not to worry about rhythm. Trust me in my Zumba class there are several with out any rhythm at all. It is a great class! It's fun and you sweat...Plus the bare minimum calories burned in that class is 600 if you really exert yourself you can get 800. Plus you really work your core and that means no embarrassing floor situps that envolve looking like you are giving birth. 16 lbs!!! Keep it up!

Anonymous said...

oh and by the by polka dancing can be very good exercise.. I've done the mexican version and my legs were not happy...not happy at all...