Thursday, January 15, 2009

Gym? What's a gym?

Hello, adoring fans. (All two of you who comment.) ::Ahem:: It has come to my attention that I have LURKERS on this blog. (Bones) If you stop by, I'd love to read your comments. It makes me feel good! :)


Okay, now that that's out of the way.. I'm still plugging along. I'm doing really well with the diet. The only problem is that I have some strong cravings. Like I told Sandra--My body misses the salt & fat. How terrible is that? That's what my body is used to. But it's true. I have been a salt fiend my whole life. I will reach for that shaker before I've even tasted my food. For the last three weeks I've gone cold turkey cutting out the salt. It's killing me! From someone who was VERY heavy handed with the salt, this is incredibly tough. I know they make lower sodium salt. But I wonder if it has chemicals and stuff in it? So that's my first dilemma.


Dilemma #2: I'm still debating on whether or not to join the gym here. I've made out a list of pros and cons for your reading pleasure.


Cons to Joining the Gym:

1. It's $40/mo. $11 more a month than what I paid in GA. OUTRAGEOUS.

2. This is kind of like #1... But since I'd be going after work, I'm not sure I'd take any classes and perhaps not be getting my money's worth?

3. 1 year contract.

4. Everyone here goes to that gym. There's a good chance people I know will see me getting my groove on on the treadmill.. And trust me, I can sweat in some odd places. Maggie, you know what I'm talking about.


Pros to Joining the Gym:

1. I haven't started any kind of weight training yet and I need to. I only have sad, little 3 lb. hand weights that aren't going to cut it. I think I need the weight machines to help out.

2. It gets dark so early now that if I don't leave for a walk the second I get home from work.. it's too dark and creepy. I could go to the gym whenever I want.

3. A 1 year contract could actually MOTIVATE me to go and get my money's worth.


So that's kind of where I am right now... Let me know what you think! Leave a comment!! :)




4 comments:

Anonymous said...

ROTFL re: Homer Simpson. I love it. BUT - back to you. OMG girl ... you & the salt ... you have to give your body a chance to DETOX (lol ... you know where I'm going with this) ... but you can / will overcome such "cravings."

Also - re: the gym. Just to set the record straight ... it is a 2 yr contract (unless you called & they told you otherwise? It's my understanding that its 2 yrs @$39 a month). ANYWAY - I will be happy to try & go with you in the evenings as often as I can. Classes are in the evenings too! I have the current schedule & you can check it out ...

Anyway - I understand the dilemma though ... esp. in the cold, dark winter months. But please know that I will be as supportive as humanly possible though! And you'll be encouraging me @the same time. =)

the Mom said...

The Homer cartoon was hilarious. YES, you should go to the "gimm".
If you were poor and it was a choice between electricity and gym, no, you COULD get the proper exercise on your own, with some extra effort. But, as long as you are employeed think of this next year as an INVESTMENT. An investment with a pay off, in yourself. Join for one year and YES, get your money's worth out of it. Think of it as $5.00 per visit. Which means you have to go at least 6 times per month, which isn't even twice per week. Maggie says that there are evening classes. So, maybe you and Maggie could do an evening class together, besides exercising on your own routine, maybe 3X per week. And, maybe you could even go Sunday evenings, just for a "walk". If you go often enough, you may get it down to $3.00 per visit. A bargain! Definitely a good idea in the winter months. Wouldn't you gladly pay $40. to be trim and healthy, rather than pay $40. a month for blood pressure medicine or something like that? So, it's really not the money. Fortunately, in this case, you can use money to improve your health and that is worth every penny. They have equipment there, like you said, with the weight training, that would be difficult to accomplish at home. hmmmm......perhaps I should join a fitness center???
Sounds like you are making good choices with the foods. Shoot me, but, I don't see SALT as the enemy. Yes, combined with fatty foods, but, on broccoli, I think it's okay. I would avoid fake salt.

the Mom said...

P.S. I forgot to comment on what if people see you in the gym? My theory on this is.......IF they see you at the gym, and IF they even bother to notice or pay attention to you, they would only have POSITIVE thoughts. Like WOW, it's good Liz is doing something for herself, being healthy, etc....and you would be kind of like an inspiration. Like just reading your blog and thinking of the gym is rather inspiring for me and I have not even seen you there. I say better people see you AT the gym, than NOT at the gym. But, honestly, I don't think people pay that much attention. They are more worried about people looking at them, and what YOU are thinking.

the Mom said...

So, did you join the gimm? How's it going? I bought some exercise pants and that alone is quite inspirational.