So yeah, when I wake up with a headache, it pretty much stays with me all day. Which kind of sets the tone, if ya know what I mean. So I wake up with my head pounding and stumble into the bathroom. I sit down only to realize that I am out of toilet paper. SIGH. I'm trying to hurry and finally make it out the door... to see that my windshield needs to be scraped. Who owns an ice scraper in South Carolina? Today I used my AMC Movie Watchers card. It did the trick just fine. Then I get into my car to find that the steering wheel is locked. Normally it just takes one forceful turn of the key to get it going when that happens. Not today. I struggled with it for about five minutes.. about to give into tears of frustration. And then remembering that the puffy eye look doesn't do much for me. My car decides it's been suitably vengeful and finally lets me turn the key. My thumb is still throbbing as I type.
Anyway, my road rage in South Carolina is bad enough as it is, but today it was off the charts. People driving 30 miles an hour in the left lane for no reason.. that sort of thing. Well, I was NOT in the mood today. I finally make it to the bridge. Almost at work! The end is in sight! No wait.. Those are blue lights in sight. I get pulled over for speeding on the ramp coming off the bridge... The officer asks for my license and insurance card which I hand over. Finding my registration is a little more tricky. I just got it like a month ago since I moved here.. I know it's in my glove box.. somewhere.. I hope. So I undo my seat belt so I can reach over and dig through the glove box. The cop comes back after running my license and goes, "Elizabeth, were you wearing your seat belt on the bridge?" OMG YES! Amazingly, I get away with a warning. Which I don't know how that's possible. The Mount Pleasant traffic cops are hardcore due to the fact that there is zero crime and therefore nothing else to do. We have to keep all these rich soccer moms safe from the evil working class!
Ohhhh I had to laugh as I was driving away from the scene of the crime though. Gotta laugh to keep from crying, right? Things can only get better. That's what people say. But that's not true, is it? Things could get worse. This day could end with a slight case of Ebola, for example. That's worse. But for now I'm just practicing my breathing exercises and trying to be thankful I don't live in a third world country where diseases such as Ebola are rampant.. But I wouldn't rule it out as a possibility.
4 comments:
ELIZABETH! No speeding, no matter how pokey people are around you!!! That was very nice of the police to only give you a warning. Perhaps he saw you were "on the edge". So, you see, something good did happen. If the weather cooperates,at lunch, even if it is cold, try to get out and walk a bit. Yes, breathe, and no caffeine? and try some protein. But, aside from all of my "advice", I'm sorry you're having a bad day. I don't think there have been any ebola outbreaks in your town, yet.
Was it a written warning or verbal? Well anyway - you need to be careful on that bridge ... remember the survival skills we discussed should a vehicle be immersed in a body of water?! OMG!! lol Well anyway - it can only get better ... think of it that way. And btw - do you need tp? I have some in stock, so lmk! LOL
haha It was a written warning. Not sure what/if any difference that makes. Except maybe if I got pulled over again they could see I got a warning and might be less likely to let me off the hook?
No, we have TP just not in my bathroom. lol I swear it takes Dad like three times as long to go through the same amount of toilet paper as me. It's not my fault... It's in the genes. But thank you for the kind offer!
anytime :o)
Post a Comment