Wednesday, April 09, 2008

The good, the bad, and the ugly.

Maggie asked me why I haven't posted lately, so here I am. I believe there was a "missy" somewhere in that email too. I haven't posted because I haven't done very well the last week. If I'm AWOL, that's usually a good indicator that I'm not doing what I'm supposed to be. Honestly, I didn't even weigh myself Friday. I was under the somewhat delusional impression that no news is good news.

Battling your weight is such a struggle. I think that even if/when I'm skinny, it will still be a constant battle. It's like an eating disorder. I don't think you're ever "cured", you just learn how to deal with it better. I don't have that thing in my brain that tells me to stop eating after one serving like a normal person would.

I had the best of intentions this week, I really did. I'd start the day out with Special K and skim milk and an apple or orange. Then for lunch I brought a Lean Cuisine to work and maybe had another piece of fruit & yogurt. I drink water throughout the day. And if I have a Diet Coke at all, I try to limit it to one. And then I get home from work and start snacking like there's no tomorrow. My dad cooks healthy dinners, so that's always fine. But I just start snacking like crazy when I'm home and no one is watching. I don't know what my deal is. Maybe I need to have a snack after lunch @ work so I'm not starving by the time I get home. Because I get home at like 4:30 but I know dinner won't be ready until around 6:30 and I'd be dying by then. Any suggestions are welcome.

So today my dad calls me and says he's working late after all and I'll have to fend for myself for dinner. I went to Kroger on my way home from work. I was already tired and annoyed because I had to stay late. Shopping while you're exhausted and hungry is such a bad idea. I decided to buy one of those frozen Bertolli dinners because they're good and I had a coupon. Plus, I first saw them on an episode of Top Chef with Rocco Dispirito and I think he's hot. The winning contestant's dinner is actually sold by Bertolli now. So anyway.. the pasta made me think of Rocco and that cheered me up a little. (More on Rocco to come.)

I think when you shop while weary you buy things you wouldn't normally because you just want to get out of there. So I get to the checkout and my cart consists of: 1 Bertolli Mediterranean Garlic Shrimp Penne frozen dinner (340 calories and 11g of fat for half the bag. Not horrible.), a quart of skim milk for my cereal tomorrow, romaine lettuce, three different kinds of cheese, and a bottle of Arbor Mist. It crossed my mind that the cashier might consider me to be some kind of dairy crazed lush. But I wanted a little cheese for my salad and couldn't decide which kind. In my drained mental state, I just grabbed them all. I know cheese products will not go to waste in this household.

This is a little off topic, but I actually have quite a history with cheese. In preparation for our high school career day, they gave us a list of professions and told us to circle the three that interested us most. First, I chose acting because I really was interested in it at the time. The other two choices I made to be a smart alec.. "Porcelain Casting" and "Cheese Making". Little did I know that by "porcelain" they actually meant TOILETS. I had to listen to a guy explain how he makes his "commodes" for half an hour. Seriously, who let that kid sign his dad up? Then I moved on to cheese making. This consisted of sitting by myself in a dark back room in the library and watching a slide show on the glory of cheese making. Apparently, there were no kids with parents who were resident cheese makers at the time. So yeah, me and cheese go way back.

Now back to Rocco. He is such a cutie: I also like him because he recently lost weight himself and has made two appearances on The Biggest Loser this season. I love The Biggest Loser! Go Ali! :) Sometimes I wish I could sign up myself and let Bob just kick my butt and take the guess work out of it all.

Well, I guess that's about all for now. If y'all notice I'm not posting... Harass me about it until I do. I'm off to choose between various cheeses... Here's to getting back on track.

4 comments:

Unknown said...

Don't be discouraged ... just acknowledge & move on. And yeah - Rocco is smokin' HOT!! LOVED to see him The Biggest Loser yet again this week. hee-hee

ANYWAY - here's a tip ... eat a 90 calorie granola bar (Quaker) on the way home from work ... or before you leave. THEN ... GUM, GUM & MORE GUM (sugar free, of course) ... until dinner. If your gum loses flavor, get another piece. I'm telling you, it works! Keep your mouth moving & chewing & your stomach will handle waiting until supper.
Go Ali! lol Who did you vote for to be the 3rd finalist? I struggled, but ultimately chose Mark ... I just like him a little bit better than Roger. BUT - overall ... I want Ali to win! TTYL

Anonymous said...

I chose Mark too because I think she has a better shot against him than Roger. I really like Roger too though! But when they were leaving campus, Jillian told Ali that she has lost the most of anyone so far. Woohoo!

the Mom said...

Liz, you are too funny. I can see you paying for your flippancy by having to watch the cheese slide show and "porcelain" molding speech. Hah! But, anyhoo, back in my younger days I too would use gum as a distractant and/or brush my teeth and/or drink a diet drink (although studies now show diet drinks as bad or worse for you than regular soft drinks), but my current solution (because you really are hungry at that time of day) is a bag full of already sliced carrot sticks or make yourself a bowl of oatmeal. That really sticks to your ribs until dinner. Or, have a prepared salad with a vinegar-y dressing as soon as you get home, as an earlier part of your entire dinner. Or, try to have dinner moved up to an earlier time. Also, back to the psychological aspects of weight gain, fear and comfort. Is it only when you return to THAT house of your childhood that you feel the uncontrolable urge to eat? Think about it. As old as I am, when I am around my mother, I revert back to my overeating pizza, soft drink and pastry childhood days. All of these deeply imbedded childhood "things" are in us and we may not even know it or acknowledge it...........So, analyze the times and places you are when you have to struggle. If it is actually being hungry and meal time, that you can handle. But, if you see a pattern of emotional eating urges that hit when you are around a certain person, or when you are alone, or in a certain location, or at a certain time of the day, then you can be fore-armed to overcome this pattern. Such as, if it is when you are home alone, after work, maybe stop off at the gym for an hour or two before you go home, even if you only sit in the sauna and read a book. Well, that's my two cents. Keep up the good work. You keep me laughing with your comments, so please keep them coming. If you (and me) can just do good for today, we worry about tomarrow when it is "today"......

Unknown said...

ITA about the carrot sticks as a great option. If you don't just need to take the edge off, but need something more filling ... then you need FIBER. An apple really satisfies & fills you up b/c of the fiber. Or any fruit ... but apple / grapes are so easy to pack & have with you. HECK - have 2 apples! LOL