Friday, May 28, 2010

The Big 3-0!

No, not 30 years old. Lord, how old do you think I am?! I lost 4 more lbs. this week. So I'm at 30 lbs now! Go, me! I think I can finally start to tell in my face some. Every time I try to take pictures, I think they look gross.. So maybe when I get my hair did later this month, I'll post new pics.

I'm still plugging along! Madeline's coming to visit this weekend. I'm excited to see her and hang out. I'm kind of worried about the eating out situation though?? I haven't eaten out since I went to Atlanta. Eek! BUT I know that I'm a changed woman and if something happens, I'll hop right back on track. But I don't plan on going hog wild!

And I'm soooooo happy to have Monday off! Yay, yay, yay!! I need a break from work! My plans are to sleep in and then shop all day. :) I hope I can find some cute new clothes. And I think I might reward myself with a new purse?!

Happy Friday, everyone!

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Cleaning Out My Closet

Okay, lately my clothes have started to look ridiculous on me. They're just baggy in the wrong places. I look like a hobo. I know, I know.. To have such problems! But I just felt like instead of feeling better about myself as I lose weight, I feel worse about my appearance because I look like a slob.

Almost two months ago, I tried on some clothes in my closet that I was hoping I'd fit into again. No luck. I have been afraid of that happening again, so I haven't touched them in a couple months. But last night I got up the courage to try some of them on again.

I discovered two pairs of badly needed jeans that fit again and a few tops. I found 3 pairs of Old Navy Jeans (Two are brand new with tags!) that ALMOST fit. Soon, I think. I will blame that on Old Navy's sizes running a tad small. And I found 3 pairs of jean capris that almost fit. Hopefully, they will fit this summer! I tried on lots of old tops that either fit or are too big. I found tons of things still with tags on them. It's crazy! I think I'd buy things that almost fit thinking it would motivate me to lose weight.. And then clearly, I never did.

But another thing that surprised me was that I have so many clothes that I've been holding on to for 9 or 10 years!! It was neat to see some of my old standbys.. But on the other hand, some of it was so outdated or raggedy I was like.. WHY do I still have this?! I had clothes from high school in there. Clothes that were over 5 years old, still with the tags on them. It's like it was comforting to just HAVE them or something? Maybe it comes from feeling like I don't fit into anything and don't have anything to wear... But having a full closet made me feel better? Even if those things didn't actually fit.. It's like I had choices.

My closet is filled to the brim. The section of clothes I actually wear is FAR smaller than the ones I do not. Not to mention the shelf up high that I can't even reach with my T-Rex arms. If you have been banished to that shelf.. It's a safe bet you don't get worn regularly. I only tried on like a third of the old things in there.. (I will need a chair to reach the rest!) But already I can tell that I will be getting rid of A LOT of things. Probably half my closet! It's quite liberating. I feel like I'm shedding the old me.

Oh, one highlight - Before winter, I tried on an old jacket I've had FOREVER and it did not fit. I couldn't zip it up. It's blue with aqua blue stripes up the sleeves. I've had it since... Ohhh.. Circa 2001? Probably in every picture of me from 2001-2006, I am wearing that jacket. So I tried it on last night thinking it still wouldn't fit.. But lo and behold, it zipped up with no problem! I am getting rid of probably everything else from that era... But I think I have to keep my beloved jacket. I will actually wear it again. :)

I still want to go shopping - Maybe Monday with the sales! But I want to bring in some new things that I can wear as I lose weight and get rid of a lot of old things. Note to my readers: You are being cruel to yourself if you keep an entire closet full of too small clothes, hoping you'll fit into them again one day! Ditch them! You're torturing yourself every time you open those doors! The same goes with huge clothes you've outgrown. For goodness sake, get rid of them! Do a little shopping and you will feel better about yourself.

You'll be happy to know that today I'm wearing a "new" shirt & jeans that fit again. :) And I put the stack of all those jeans in the middle of my room as motivation since I'm actually losing weight now and not hoping I'll lose weight. I think I'm going to break the 3-0 barrier on Friday! We'll see. :)

Friday, May 21, 2010

You can't see me, but I'm stirring the pot.

I lost 4 lbs! So that's 26 lbs. total! I'm so close to 30! Maybe next week?? Yaaay! I feel so good. I'm so happy I broke through that barrier, finally!

Last night at Tread & Shed was good. I burned 623 calories. Tough stuff. I didn't do ALL the running.. Which Maggie called me out for. We'd run a minute, walk a minute and then bump up the incline one. All the way to 10.0. I can do the ones on the lower incline. But 5.0 is about my limit. I mean, who runs on a 10.0?! Besides Maggie. So I did the first ones and then the last ones when we were coming back down. That's still a lot of running for me, and the most calories I've ever burned in Tread & Shed. So I'm happy with that. :)

I don't know WHAT it is with me in that class.. I think I'm too nice or something. But everyone wants to talk to me. This kid who looked like he was about 12 was on the treadmill next to me trying to chat it up. He was wearing a Navy basic training tee though, so I suppose he was at least 18. But he looked like a baby. He was telling me how this is the first time he's taken the class and it's harder than it looks.. And something about a "runner's high"?? What is it with me and the Navy boys?? The hottie from the concert was ex-Navy too. ::Sniff::

The diet is going awesome. I'm following everything to the letter, scouts honor. I've just been making my own meals in advance. I cook enough chicken for the week and make my breakfast/lunch the night before. It's basically just lean meat, raw or steamed vegetables, fruits.. But I can have bread, rice, & starches. So it's not like I'm deprived of anything. It's kind of funny.. I get like all excited about my rice cakes for a snack or my fruit. Everything seems to taste better. And even this morning I was like.. I get JELLY! On my toast! haha And.. salt fiend that I am.. I have even cut out the salt. Shocking, I know. And I drink WATER like nobody's business!

Thanks, everyone, for the encouraging comments. :) Until next time.........

Friday, May 14, 2010

BLAH!

No, literally. I just puked at work for no reason. Maybe it's because I was disgusted with the scale this morning. More specifically the lack of movement?! SAME! UGH! It's driving me nuts. I don't really understand because I've been good all week. I worked out. I even tried a new class. So WHAT GIVES?! I'm so over it! The thing is - I can't really pinpoint one thing I'm doing totally wrong. If I was, I'd admit it - seeing as how I have a public blog. (You all know far too much about me already.) But if anything, I feel like I've been better about food this week & getting in enough water.. So whatever. ::Frowny face:: I have got to start that new diet on Monday. Maggie, are you cheering?

Well, despite my scale failures... (Scale-ures?) I did have a great workout last night. Our friend, Kim, taught Tread & Shed. It's always nice to have someone new who changes it up. Oh and the best part.. I got to try out my new sports bra! It was great! B&B have never sat so high up before! They were locked and loaded. Maybe it's because I was pumped about the bra.. Or maybe it really was because of the bra.. But running was so much easier! It was amazing! I wasn't having to hold onto my boobs the whole time. It didn't hurt. Freeeee! I usually have to rest in between the sprints.. But not last night. I ran for longer than I've ever been able to. And on the very last run she told us to bump up our speed and push it out for the last sprint. Dare I?? I usually run between 4.5 - 4.8 because that's about when I start to think if it's any faster I'll roll off the back. But I bumped it up to 5.0! May not sound like much.. But it's a milestone for me. :) I'll try to start at a 5.0 next time and work my way up.

Ginger Gladiator was faithfully present, as always. Nice arms. I'm afraid Original Gladiator is sick or something?! I haven't seen him in like 2 weeks. Maybe I should make a house call... OH and on the way out.. I saw a guy on the treadmill with THE WHITEST legs I've ever seen! I made Maggie turn around and look. She said he rivaled even Middle Aged Balding Kip. He seriously had ghost crab legs..


Well, that's all for now... I'll try not to wallow & womit (As they say in Romania) anymore. The only bright spot in my day is that I'm leaving for Atlanta after work! Sandra, see you soon! :)

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

I'm Training to Become a Cage Fighter

Hello, blog readers! Well, I went to the gym after work today. I was late for Tread & Shed but I caught the last half. I didn't get a treadmill near Maggie because the class was full. There was a very jolly large fellow to my right. He didn't hit me up with too much annoying small talk. But he did try to chit chat a bit. I ran more & longer than I have been able to before. About 10 minutes into it, I thought I started to smell myself. I was like, what the french toast?! I JUST reapplied deo when I changed at the gym! But upon leaning ever so slightly to my right, I realized the scent was not, in fact, emanating from me. Whew. Jolly Large Fellow was gettin' his sweat on..

After Tread & Shed, Maggie and I did Group Power. (AN HOUR OF WEIGHTS!) Shannon taught both classes. She's my fave instructor. I've done Group Power before at this gym and also at Gold's Gym in Georgia. I just remembered not really being a fan of it. It's haaard. ::whine, whine:: I think it was a good class though. It was borderline too hard, but I did it.

Ugh, I have such terrible balance though! Does that get better with practice? I think it's due to my extremely short legs. I am like almost three inches taller than Maggie, but if we sit on the floor and stretch our legs out, they're the exact same length! I'm a freak of nature. Shannon asked me if I was going to take the class every Tuesday & Thursday after after Tread & Shed. Umm.. Maybe.

Oh, side note - The room is surrounded by panels of mirrors. If you stand right in the middle where two panels come together, it does this weird mirror trick thing and makes you look really skinny. I do that every time I go to the gym. :) Also, while we were laying on our backs doing ungodly things with weights, I caught my reflection and noticed my tummy looked flatter. :)

Oh and not only was Grotesque Sweaty Man in the class.. But also a new species. I don't know any other way to describe him but a balding, middle aged version of Kip from Napoleon Dynamite.. He was a Ginger who probably weighed 98 lbs. soaking wet with noodle arms and chicken legs.. A direct quote from Maggie: "I don't know where his pasty white leg ends and his tube sock begins." It was that bad. He had these huge tube socks pulled up to his knees. I think I've seen him on the treadmill before with a weight vest on? I don't understand. He's so pitiful, bless his heart. If anyone needs to be pumping iron, it's him.

Well, I'm hoping for a good weigh in this Friday!! I will keep you updated! :)

Friday, May 07, 2010

Friday Weigh In

I lost another 2 lbs. So that that's 22 lbs. total! I'll take it! These last two lbs. were difficult for some reason.. But feel like I'm doing good now!

I got my hair did last night. Sooo excited about that! I got some blonde put back into it for the summer. :) I'm trying to let it grow out some, so no cut this time. I was more excited about getting my eyebrows done than anything. They were practically at cavewoman status. But Gene told me never to touch my own eyebrows again, so I listened!

Saturday we're having a Mexican fiesta (hehe) and Sunday I'm going to the beach with some friends. I'm ready for summer! And a vacation!

Moi - New hair! (And eyebrows) :)

Tuesday, May 04, 2010

STOP THE PRESSES!

Okay, first order of business.. I fit into my sports bras! I bought them a couple months ago in preparation for the Bridge Run. Well, at Bridge Run time, neither of them fit! I looked and looked in stores for a sports bra big enough to contain B & B. They were all flimsy material that did nothing but give me a uni-boob. Finally, I found some sports bras on www.championusa.com that were for big boobalas! They actually have underwire. ::cheering:: QUITE necessary when your girls are as big as mine & you're working out. So I was really disappointed when I got them in the mail and they didn't fit. Well, one mostly fit and the other one almost fit.

I tried them on a couple nights ago and they both fit! B & B are so happy in their new home! They don't know what to do with themselves being in such close quarters. One of the bras goes over your head and then has extra snaps in the back for support. And the other one goes on like a regular bra with the snaps. That one is the easy one. The one that goes over your head is a little more difficult. It FITS but it's slightly challenging to get in and out of until I lose some back fat. I practically boxed my own ears getting out of it. I never understood that term until now.

But the important thing is that they fit! B & B will thank me! I've been exercising in regular bras. Which has been okay... but that has made running a little difficult.. Thus holding my boobs so it doesn't hurt, as evidenced by my Bridge Run pictures. No more! Can't wait to actually try them out. :)

Tonight was Tread & Shed. I noticed that I went half a mile further than I normally do.. Maggie did too. I guess we ran more, I dunno! I'll take it though. There was a weird creeper on the treadmill next to me though. He was wearing regular clothes.. Jeans and dressy shoes. And he kept trying to talk to me. "It's hot in here, huh?" Umm.. yeah. "Look, you've burned over 500 calories now!" Thanks? Eww. Stop talking to me! I don't even have a witty nickname for him. Just Creeper. Ginger Gladiator & Salt & Pepper were my only hotties that made an appearance tonight. I wanted to see the original Gladiator!! Wahhh. Where are you and your perfect arms?! Show yourself!

Everything is going good! Weigh in Friday!

P.S. This song makes me happy! Enjoy! :)