Tuesday, October 05, 2010

No Title. Just ugggghhhh...

I am still recovering from the gym this afternoon.  Our lovely instructor decided that since the weather was so nice, we'd do Tread & Shed outside.  WHAT?!  See...  I'm not a runner.  I run/jog when I can or I do a fast walk.  We're all getting nowhere fast on the treadmill, so who can tell how far you've gone?!  But outside, like ACTUAL running--You're gonna be able to tell that I'm last!  I was so not excited.

We warmed up inside for about 10 minutes.  Then she had us go outside..  Her tactic was for us to start out in a line.  And when she said switch, the person in the back had to sprint to the front of the line.  And so and so on..  (This made me think of Buzz on Home Alone...  The order of opening presents.  "Then I'll go, and the rest of you, and so on.")  Except I never made it to the front.  I did start out running.  I figured I'd better just get in the back to begin with and save everyone else the bother.  There were two women behind me.  One was about at my pace.  But the other one really couldn't keep up and had to walk.  So Shannon asked if I would stay with her and we could "motivate" each other!  Heck, yeah!  It's like when you get to leave class to walk the sick kid to the nurse's office!  Sign me up.

So we did a brisk walk and then some sprints..  Shannon is insane!  We walked/ran from Trolley Road, all the way down Midland Parkway to Ladson Road, and then back.  To those of you not familiar with  Summerville, SC..  It was about 3 miles after all the other crap we did.  I apologize to anyone who saw my lady lumps bouncing along Midland Parkway.  I fully expected to get texts/facebook posts from people I know asking if that was me this afternoon.  Yes, unfortunately it was.

The other crap:  You know those cement parking pole thingies they have in front of like Target or something?  I guess so a car doesn't crash through the doors.  Anyway, they have those in front of the gym windows.  We had to do side shuffles between all the poles like a million times.  Then she made each of us stand in front of one and then jump and like lift yourself up.  We did 40 of those.  Well...  we were SUPPOSED to do 40 of those...  I felt sorry for the poor people on the other side of the glass watching our jiggly bits go up and down.  The whole time I was humming to myself, "My milkshake brings all the boys to the yard..."

THEN she took us to the side of the gym parking lot and we did sprints down and side shuffles back.  Sprint down again and side shuffle back with the other leg.  I thought I was going to vomit after those shuffles.  (WHO INVENTED THE SIDE SHUFFLE?!  I HATE HIM!  You know it was a man!)  Then she had us race against each other in twos.  Maggie and I decided to go against each other to save ourselves the embarrassment of going against someone else.  I actually took off really fast and Maggie had to push it to keep up.  ;)  She did beat me by a tad, but I like to think I held my own!

We went back inside to stretch and my legs were like Jell-O.  My butt and back are still sore.  Why my butt?!  I think it was those pole jump thingies.  Ugh.  Hate.  And Shannon said it was probably the cold air...  But we were all wheezing and coughing.  My chest is still kind of tight.  I seriously had to talk myself out of ralphing.

But I guess on the upside, it's preparation for the Dolphin Run 5k I'm doing next weekend with Maggie, Sam and Cliff.  (There's still time to sign up if you want to do it!)  Speaking of which...  things are going wonderfully with Cliff (my tall, handsome man-friend).  I'm really happy he's doing the run with me!  Part of me hopes he's huffing and puffing to keep up with me.  And then I remembered his legs are twice as long as mine.  No, literally.

I'm still looking for a job!  Somewhat unsuccessfully at the moment, I must admit.  But I'm trying to stay positive.  Thanks for reading.  :)

Saturday, September 18, 2010

Busier Than a One Legged Man in a Butt Kicking Contest

I would be the one legged man this week.  On Tuesday I met my fabulous friend Renee for lunch.  We ate at Qdoba Mexican Grill which was quite good, I must say.  And then I had just enough time to get home and change for the gym.  Note to self:  Do not eat a burrito before an intense workout.  I immediately regretted that decision.  The workout, not the burrito.  The burrito was wonderful. 

Kim kicked our butts with a hardcore personal training session for about 45 minutes.  We went on the MANLY weightlifter side and used all sorts of machines I'd never dare touch on my own.  Those leg press thingies were hard.  You're like laying on your back and you have to push your legs up with the weights on it.  Yeesh.  Every time it comes down, it feels like it's smushing your intestines.  I will say, Maggie had it worse than me.  She made her do this thing where you lay on your stomach and your ankles are behind a bar that you have to curl up.  Maggie's butt was sore for like 4 days. 

Then we went to the ladies side to endure other forms of torture.  She made Maggie do mountain climbers from one end of the gym to the other.  But you have your feet on these little pads that slide on the carpet.  At first you think, oh cool, they'll help me slide easier.  Not really.  It just makes it harder.  And then she made her do planks all the way back.  While Maggie was in misery with her mountain climbers, Kim had put this horrid rubber band thing around my ankles..  And I had to step to the side across the gym and back like that.  It was really hard..  My hips were killing me by the end.

I thought Maggie was going to have her Biggest Loser emotional break down moment.  But she held back.  As if that wasn't enough punishment, we did Tread & Shed for an hour after that.  I really thought I might barf.  So that was Tuesday.  (I still don't regret the burrito.)

Thursday we did cycling.  I actually enjoy cycling more than Tread & Shed now.  Who knew?  And lo and behold, my crotch has gotten used to it.  I can't think about that too much though.  I finally mastered some of the more difficult moves.  Shannon has us stand up and cycle for a four count and then sit down for a four count.  And you just go up and down, up and down.  I can do those, but the two count ones are a little harder for me.  By the time I finally get up, they're already sitting back down again.  It takes a lot of leg strength to go up and down real fast like that!  I'm not gonna lie and say I did it the WHOLE time, but I was happy that I can do it now.  And I did more of the push up thingies on the bike than I usually can.

And then today...  Maggie, Sam, and I did the Tanger Outlet 5k in North Charleston.  My goal was to 1) Not come in last and 2) Beat my time from the Buford Run the Rails 5k we did in June.  Maggie signed me up for this one, somewhat against my will.  We are doing the Dolphin Run 5k at Sam's school in October.  And I just didn't want to do this one in the meantime!  I was NOT pumped about it at all.  I didn't feel ready.  So this morning when we were stretching just before the race started, I thought, "Okay, I have GOT to get psyched!" 

The race started and I took off running.  Which was great until I stopped to walk.  I ran and walked the whole way.  I picked out two ladies near me and made it my goal to beat them.  Sometimes they'd run and get in front of me, so I'd run and get back in front of them.  It helps me to have something to focus on.  Or I'll tell myself..  Okay, just run past 4 more light posts and then you can walk a little.  I have to play mind games with myself.

Finally, towards the end, one of the volunteers was trying to talk to me as I went by.  She said I was doing good.  And  I was like..  uhh, thanks.  Not to be RUDE, but I'm just not up for chit chat when I'm in the zone!  And then she asked me if this was my first race.  NO, I'm just in the back of the pack, but thanks for pointing that out!  When the lady with the stroller passed me, I knew I had to pick it up.  I had Shannon in my head going, "One!  Two!  One!  Two!  Keep that pace!"  That's what she says in cycling to make sure you're going fast enough.  :)

Finally I was rounding the corner and I saw Maggie coming.  She was already finished, of course, but she came to help me finish.  She motivated me to jog the last bit to the finish line.  I thought I might barf, but thankfully, I didn't.  I did, however, smell like an Asian water buffalo.  No lie.  So I beat my Buford time by like 4 mins.  And this time there were FIVE people behind me instead of one..  Hey, it's an improvement, right?!

I hope I'm not too sore tomorrow!  I'm just taking it easy right now until I have to get ready for my date later tonight.  ;)  Don't worry, I showered.  Until next time...

Saturday, September 11, 2010

New Blog Address

Well, as you can see, the blog address has changed.  It's now www.thisislizzie.blogspot.com.  Please share it with people in case they're not on my email list!  I don't want to lose any of my faithful readers.  :)

Sooooo much has happened since my last post.  First of all, I got laid off three weeks ago.  So there's that.  But actually, it's been okay.  I hated my job anyway.  I'm job searching right now and hopefully I'll find something soon.  In the meantime, I've been enjoying my time off.

But let's get to the good stuff..  There's a new man in my life.  :)  We're taking it slow, but things are really good so far.  He's sweet and wonderful and makes me feel pretty.  And he makes me mix tapes!  Well... CDs..  What's not to like?  ;)

As far as the diet and exercise..  Ehhhh...  I've been going to my classes at the gym.  And I've gotten lots better at cycling.  I actually ENJOY it now!  WHO would have thought that was possible?!  The diet...  Not terrible, not great.  I need to get back on track with that.  Last time I weighed in, I've maintained.  So at least I didn't gain.

And next Saturday..  Maggie has signed me up for a 5k.  EEK!  I really don't feel ready...  BUT I hope I don't do horribly.  My goal is to not come in last. http://www.tangeroutlet.com/Race/Race.aspx?Center=charleston

So that's my life right now!  Sorry I've been MIA!  Fire away if you have any questions.  ;)

Friday, August 13, 2010

Whoop! Whoop!

So many things to post about!  Okay, well first of all.. I hadn't really weighed myself since Florida.  I was too scared!  But as of this morning...  I have lost 7 more lbs!  So 38 lbs. total!  I'm so happy!  That's almost 40 lbs.  When I did Weight Watchers a couple years ago, the most I lost was 44 lbs, then I gained it all back.  So to think that I'm almost there again makes me happy.  :)  40 lbs. is a big deal!  That's like 8 bags of sugar. haha  My lady lumps thank me.

Okay, let me go back now..  Last weekend, I went to Atlanta to visit Madeline.  We had an.. uhh.. interesting time.  No, really, I had a blast.  :)  I for one was totally sober on Friday night, however, our entire party was not.  ;)  Love you, Mad!  I had a really nice time, despite repeatedly being called derogatory names in Spanish by my own cousin that I cannot repeat here.  And the words, "my milkshake brings all the boys to the yard" will never have the same meaning to me again.  After being verbally abused by my family members all weekend, I recuperated by the pool Sunday morning until it was time to head back to Chucktown.  Thanks for a fun filled weekend!  ;)

Tuesday night I went to the gym with Maggie.  Since my work schedule changed, I really can't get to Tread & Shed on time anymore.  So we just decided to do our own thing on the treadmills on the ladies side.  But we didn't slack off.  We still did lunges and walked backwards and all that nonsense.  I burned 620 calories that night, so not too shabby.  We were about to leave when we saw that the Zumba class was starting up.  We saw a family waiting for class to begin.  A middle aged mom and dad and their Shrek-like teenage son.  We were like..  SHUT the front door, we have to stick around to see this.

When I took Zumba months ago, there were maybe like 10-15 people in there.  It has since gained MUCH popularity at my gym.  There were about 35 people in that class!  These Zumbadeers (as I've dubbed them) are hardcore.  They bring their own little sarong things to tie around their waist that have little jingly coin-like things on them.  So when they're booty shaking, it makes noise.  It's hilarious!  Like every other person had brought one to put on.  Where does one purchase such an item?  Okay, I just answered my own question.  For the low, low price of $10.95, you can purchase one of these lovelies online in a variety of saucy colors!


Okay, back to the weird middle aged couple.  The dad was kinda short and paunchy and was wearing no shoes with tube socks up to his knees.  His cotton shorts and too tight t-shirt were scary enough when he was stationary, so while rump shaking, he was quite a sight.  I never wanted to see that man pretend like he was riding a pony, but I did.  The ogre-like teenage son was wearing an orange shirt with a jack-o-lantern face on it.  He was standing awkwardly in the back of the room.  The dad was at least trying really hard to do the moves.  Trying and failing, but trying nonetheless.  Jack-o-lantern was standing in the back swaying awkwardly from side to side.  Poor Jack-o-lantern.  When your dad shows you up at an otherwise entirely female Zumba class..  Yeah, that's bad.  He should just turn in his man card now.

There are some girls that can work it in that class though.  You can tell they've spent many hours in da club.  And some girls should do everyone a favor and never take that class again.  One girl in particular was shaking her money maker, which was even bigger than mine.  That's hard to do.  Her behind looked like two cats fighting to get out of a paper bag.  I thought they were going to kick me and Maggie out of the gym for giggling so much.

I think that's mostly all of my news...  Oh, except that I have special plans tonight....... ;)  But I'll post about that later after I see how it goes!  My life is pretty wonderful right now.  :)

Thursday, August 05, 2010

Ch-ch-changes!

My vacation was amazing!  I REALLY needed a break from my crazy work.  It was awesome!  We pretty much got up and went somewhere every morning.  But even though I didn't sleep in much, we just had so much FUN! 

And...  I had my first massage!  I've always been way too shy to do that.  Sure, my back could use a rub down but I was mortified of someone touching me.  My mom very generously treated me to a massage, and I couldn't whine my way out of it.  The massage therapist escorted me to a room that smelled like a hippie headquarters with various incense and essential oils.  There was gentle mood music flowing from a boom box in the corner.  My immediate thought was... WHAT have I gotten myself into....  I thought about bolting for a split second.  She told me to please take off all my clothes but my underwear and lay on my stomach on the table and cover myself with the sheet.  I had to laugh as I undressed during what were to be my last moments of privacy.  In a few short moments, she would be as familiar with my goodies as I am.  So I'm giggling as I hike myself up onto the table.. and there's a huge problem.  Well...  two huge problems.  Lying on your stomach is not optimal when you have huge boobs.  It just doesn't feel good.  They were like spilling off the side. 

I tried to cover myself futilely, just as the massage therapist comes in.  She takes one look at the overabundance of my chesticles and offers a pillow for under my chest.  Ahhh, that's much better!  Okay...  I had it in my head before we began that I'd only let her touch certain things..  I didn't want her to go above my calf on my legs, etc.  But when they're doing it and it feels so good...  it's like WHATEVER.  Go for it.  It's already all hangin' out.  She did some WONDEROUS things with those hands.  Simply glorious.  Apparently, I was all out of alignment.  Not hard to believe.  Not only did she go above the calf, there was some glute action.  Oh yeah.  And I gotta say..  I didn't hate it.

By the time my glorious hour was up, I felt drunk.  Does a massage release some drug in your brain?!  That's what it felt like.  She was ask me questions and I was like..... "mmmfhhhmmmphhhff".  It didn't help that only my nose and mouth were peeking out of a tiny hole.  I had to drag my limbs when she asked me to move my arm to the side or something.  I so could have fallen asleep on that table in all my glory and not given a hoot.  I took my time dressing and staggered out sleepily and slightly dazed.  I could definitely get used to this...

The rest of the vacation was lovely.  I got to fulfill my lifelong dream of riding on an air boat.  It was as awesome as I thought it would be. And I got plenty of beach time and even a slight tan.  And my BFF met me down there!  So it was as perfect week.  :)

Today I tried cycling....  And it was awesome!  It was definitely hard, but it felt so good.  I'm glad I didn't give up on it.  (And even more glad I didn't have a mental breakdown in the parking lot this time.  Yay, me!)  I think this was my most successful cycling class to date.  And Shannon plays great music.  I can really pedal to... "I put my hand upon your hip.  When I dip, you dip, we dip."  That's just how I roll.

And.... the class also might have gone smashingly because I've been in a good mood.  Let's just say....  There's a certain someone who makes me happy.  And that's all I have to say.. about that.  ;)

Ciao, lovelies!

Friday, July 23, 2010

Cycling: Part Deux

Well, I went to cycling again last night. Do you want the good news or the bad news first? Good, you say? Well, the instructor was my fave Tread & Shed instructor, Shannon. I definitely like her style and how she teaches, so I knew she would be good for that class. She also plays really good music that pumps you up.

It was hysterical-- She played "Baby Got Back" and was like.. "Come on, I know you all know the words!" So EVERYONE in the class started singing it. And HELLO-- that is my theme song, so of course I know every word. Some of the guys were really getting into it.. "So fellas? Yeah! Fellas? Yeah! Has your girlfriend got the butt?" That might have been the highlight of my night.

Also, I can tell that my balance has gotten better. I could actually let go of the handle bars this time. I could NOT do that during the first class. I was holding on for dear life. It takes a lot of core control (for me anyway) to be able to let go! So I was glad that I could see the difference.
And I know you're all DYING to hear the status of my crotchital region.  It's really not as bad this time..  It's still sore, but definitely not like the first time.  Getting in and out of my car is a little tricky.  But hey, that's okay.

Now for the bad... Are you ready? Ughhhh it just felt so much harder last night! Shannon is a pretty tough instructor. But that's why I like her. She's no nonsense and just makes you push yourself. I prefer that than someone being too nice. I feel like I get a better workout with her. So it's not that I didn't like how Shannon did the class.. I guess I just got discouraged because I couldn't do everything she was telling us to do. There are some moves that are a little too advanced for me because I've only done the class twice. But even though I was doing all I could, I just felt like a LOSER. I know it's not like anyone was looking at me funny in the class. More than anything, I was just disappointed in myself. I want to be able to do better and I was upset that I couldn't do everything.

Also, I think my foot straps might have been too tight. Either that or I just pedal retarded. But my feet went numb and then there was like shooting pain. So that was distracting me a lot. I didn't quit and I know that I did the best I could.. It just bummed me out that my "best" wasn't that good.

I don't know what it is about working out intensely.. but sometimes it makes me emotional! It's like everything that's been on your mind comes bubbling to the surface and you're working so hard that it just comes spilling out. I've been known to get teary eyed after a class before. Not because of the physical pain or because I want to quit, but just because I get emotional sometimes. I don't really know how to explain it. But somehow the physical exertion is connected to something emotional for me. It's weird because when I got home and checked the PostSecret website, this postcard was on there..


I had just been thinking that in class! I thought.. If I cry right now, no one will notice because it's so dark in there.  Well, I at least made it to my car before I started crying.  Of course, I felt silly and angry with myself.  But I just just had this overwhelming feeling of being a failure.  I don't know what came over me but I was definitely having a moment.  I texted Sandra, slightly hysterical.  And she repeated to me something I once said to her when she was struggling with her running..  "You're entitled to 'have a moment', but it's hard because it works."  I thought..  Well, crap, she's right.  So I calmed down and felt better after I took a shower.  And Maggie told me later I was probably just being too hard on myself-- which might be true.

I almost didn't type this whole story... because WHO cries about cycling?!  BUT I promised to be honest on this blog!  So there you go.  My ridiculousness is on public display.

I weighed myself this morning and I lost 2 lbs.  One of which was the extra one I gained.. Eek.  So right now, I'm down 31 lbs.  And more importantly......  I AM GOING ON VACATION TOMORROW!  That's right!  Summer vacation is finally here!  Yours truly will be soaking up the sun in beautiful Bonita Springs, FL.  I just realized that that translates into "beautiful Beautiful Springs"......  Redundancy aside, I am excited!  I so need a vacay from my horrid office.  And I'm also excited that my BFF will be meeting me down there later next week.  :)  I'll try to blog in FL.  Until next time....

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Walking the Plank

Even though I was beyond tired yesterday and head a headache, I went to the gym anyway. I seriously needed some endorphins to pep me up after a particularly bad day at work.

Tread & Shed was an especially sweaty endeavor. The treadmill part is bad enough, but Shannon also has us hop off to engage in other torturous activities. My legs turned to Jell-o when I heard her utter those two evil words: Mountain climbers. I don't know what kind of sadistic person invented this move, but I'm pretty sure they also club baby seals for fun. If you're a woman with huge boobs, such as myself, there is no pretty way to do a mountain climber. I felt like my goodies were on display at every angle. My boobs are hanging out in the front, my shirt was flying up around my neck, and my butt is jiggling in the air. I think everyone at the gym is on a first name basis with my lady lumps.



After the mountain climbers, we did planks. But instead of having you rest on your forearms, you were in like a push-up position. We had to hold it for a minute. My arms started to get seriously shaky by the end, but I held on. I was kind of proud of myself for that. It made my hands and wrists hurt though. And I can't think too much about all the things that have been on that gym floor where I was touching.

I added a nifty new link at the bottom of my posts to make it easier for people to share my blog with others. I loooove reading everyone's comments. Sometimes I feel like no one reads at all and I wonder why I bother since I don't get much feedback. So, attention lurkers: If I know you and you're not commenting, you've got some 'splainin to do!! If I sort of know you, please don't be shy. And if I don't know you, hey that's fine too. Thanks for reading. :)

Friday, July 09, 2010

Cycling Puts the CROTCH in Crotchety

Bueno! (Don't know if I can really use that since I'm not answering the phone.. or Pedro's sister.. But I'm saying it anyway!) I have seriously been AWOL the last couple weeks. Which quite rightly, you might assume means I've been a glutton. We've had various company in town, one after the other.. Which means lots of dinners out. My blood type is now Pinot Grigio. I've been trying to be good for breakfast and lunch, but then the dinners out have been killing me.. and my stomach. My body is rebelling. I have been good the last couple days, but I need to really get more strict. Must go to the grocery store tonight to replenish my supplies.

Soooo...... I don't know what possessed me to try cycling, but I did last night. I think Maggie suggested we try it about a week ago. But I thought it sounded fun and I was willing. I like Tread & Shed, but I thought it might be neat to try something different. She actually didn't have to drag me kicking and screaming into this one, like she has with some other classes. :) I tried cycling one time at Gold's Gym in GA. It was part of an interval class so it was only 20 mins. But it was enough for me to know that your crotch should never feel that way. So I've been terrified to try it since then. Even when I committed to trying the class this week, I was warned by no fewer than 3 people that my crotchital region would be über sore. But everyone also said that you get used to it after a few times. Do I want to get used to that sensation? The jury is still out on that one..

Maggie got my bike set up for me. It's quite a hike to get up there for my 5'2" self. Not to mention.. that even though I'm 2 in. taller than Maggie, our legs are the same length.. So my seat was like as low as it would go to accommodate my freakishly short legs. It felt pretty awkward at first. I felt far away from the handlebars. I can't really reach the water bottle holder well with my T-Rex arms. And it takes a lot of balance. I felt like I was circus folk on a unicycle. And of course, there was the searing pain in my crotch. There is no good spot. You try to move your butt all the way back.. and it doesn't help. You move your right cheek over.. then the left. Nope, no reprieve. I felt like I was riding on a broomstick. But at some point, you've gotta suck it up and ignore your crotch. You can quote me on that.

So class starts and the instructor had us do sprints, turn the tension up, stand up.. all kind of things. But ya know.. The class seemed to go by pretty fast. I never really thought about quiting. Standing up and cycling is hard because you have it on a higher tension and there's more resistance.. You feel like you're walking through mud. But it's the one and only break that your bum gets.. So you actually look forward to it. During one particularly intense sprint, the instructor said we had one minute left. And then she said, "You can do anything for a minute." And I thought.. You know what, I can! So I pedaled furiously for the last minute.

The music pumped up with the fast beats really gets you going. It was definitely hard, but I can see myself getting into it. I will try it again. Uhhh, but let me tell you... Today I feel like I've been viciously assaulted by more than one person. My tenders are tender. I feel like I need to be sitting on an inflatable donut. If you have one, please let me know. I cannot even describe to you the specific area that is in so much pain. It's not my butt exactly.. or my crotch, precisely.. but somewhere in between. I do not know how men take that class without seriously limiting their chances at reproduction. 'Nuff said.

I've been avoiding it for like two weeks, but I finally weighed myself this morning. Shockingly, I'm only up 1 lb. Maybe it's because I've been good for the last few days and then cycling shocked my system. But I'll take it!

Until next time... take care of yourselves.. and your crotch. That's another one for the books.

Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Jeepers Creepers

Well, we had a good weekend in Columbia at the convention. We ate healthy for breakfast and lunch but went to dinner every night. Ughhh.. The food was so good but so bad. It did a number on my stomach! The final straw was the Chinese buffet on the last night.. I really thought I might vomit when I got home. One too many crab rangoons.. I was so ready to start back on my diet on Monday. The bad news is I gained about 5 lbs. in Columbia. I don't know how it's possible to gain 5 lbs. in one weekend, but I did. I'm sure it'll come off though!

Interesting tidbit... I got hit on by no fewer than 4 creepers last weekend. Most of them were older, portly gentleman. Eww. I suppose I should be flattered, but no. They were just gross. And one of the contenders had a tracheotomy tube thing in his neck.. I kept staring at it as he was hovering over me creepily. Another old man grabbed me and pretended to know me from somewhere. Thankfully, the friend I was standing with gave him a series of dirty looks that shamed him into skulking away. I mean, seriously. I think I look about my age... So did these 40-50+ year old men really think they'd have a shot with a girl in her 20's? Get serious. I'm not that hard up. The one young guy was SO dorky... bless his heart. He was in a short sleeved white dress shirt with high waters, glasses, and his cell phone clipped to his belt. I suppose I could have thrown him a pity bone, seeing as how he was the least offensive of all my suitors... but nah.

On the bright side, I wore three new dresses in smaller sizes that fit well. And I know I looked cute. :) My hair and makeup looked pretty good, if I do say so myself. The only casualties are my pinkie toes... due to the confines of my heels. And then there was the afternoon jaunt to Starbucks that I knew I would regret on my already blistered trotters.. I hoofed it three blocks there and three blocks back, limping all the way. My pinkie toe on my left foot might need to be amputated, but man, that was a tasty frappuccino..

Monday night I walked in the neighborhood. It's actually quite scenic. I walked out of the town homes and into the neighborhood.. and then picked up one little loop of the trail that goes around a pond and up some stairs. And then I came back out to the neighborhood and walked the main circle. I did that twice. I was like 1.56 miles. Not too bad for just walking. I was glad I did it.

Last night we did Tread & Shed. I kinda wanted to ralph, but controlled myself. I think it's the running on the treadmill manually thing that does it to me. Blech. After a quick shower, we went to see Karate Kid. I really liked it. But it was a long movie and we were SO stiff when we finally stood up!

Okay, that's all for now. Happy Hump Day! :)

Wednesday, June 16, 2010

Hmm...

Nothing all that exciting to report today.. I just felt like I owed you all a post. :) Tread & Shed was last night. It's so hot in the gym! They had fans going.. but none were blowing my way, so a fat lot of good that did. My back was covered in sweat, as usual. The kids won't hug me when we pick them up after the class because I'm so sweaty. haha Sometimes Rachel forgets and starts to hug me and then goes, "Oh, no!" and shakes her finger at me. hehe

Ugh, speaking of hot - It's been sooo hot here! The humidity is killing me! And my pretty hair.. We're going to Columbia this weekend. It's supposed to be like 92-95 degrees all weekend. Greaaat.. At least I have cute, new dresses to wear. :)

I'm so ready for my Florida vacation in July! I need a break from this place... Going to the movies tonight with Maggie & the kids. :) And then I need to pack tonight! You know I wait until the last minute... ;) Okay... toodles for now. Beware of tiny Asian women eyeing your pants.

Friday, June 11, 2010

New Haircut!


Cute! One of my new tops. :)




Oh, no you didn't!

Short Pants

Well... I lost another lb. So that's 32 lbs. total. I'm glad I LOST a lb. instead of gained a lb. but I'd be happy if it was moving along faster! I do need to add in another day or two of cardio. I think because on Tuesday - Thursday I'm rushing to the gym after work or home for meeting.. I feel like Monday is my only day to run errands and go to the grocery store. So I just have it in my head that I can't go to the gym on Monday. BUT as Maggie suggested, I could walk in the neighborhood instead. That way I can still do my errands after work and not have to rush. I can walk another day on the weekend too. I guess I have just strictly been thinking "gym" and feeling like I don't have time for that on the other days! I just need my earphones and I'll be good to go. :)

I think I'm going shopping after work! I thought I got rid of all my baggy clothes, but apparently not. I wore my trusty blue shirt to work today and it's too big.. I was looking mostly for pants when I went shopping, but I guess I need some new tops. So I see shopping in my future!

The gym was good last night. Even though I accidentally wore short pants. I had bought these Reebok pants awhile ago and they were too small.. So I just had them in my closet. Well, they fit now! But I guess I tried them on with no shoes.. Because with tennis shoes, they are short pants. I think they would be capri's on a person of normal height.. But yeaaahh.. It was slightly embarrassing BUT Maggie said they made me look thinner. We decided it might just be an illusion because they're short pants... But I'll take it! Oh, something sad/funny. When I was putting them on, I noticed the tag. They're XL.. but it said the Asian size would be 5XL. hahaha That's so sad. You could fit five little Asian women in my pants?! I was just happy not to be in a plus size.. and then I was shot down by Reebok's Asian sizing. Why'd you have to go and burst my bubble, Reebok?!

Well, happy Friday! Have a good weekend. :)

Sunday, June 06, 2010

Another Race Under My Belt

I did it! My goal was to do it in under an hour and not to be last.. And I accomplished that, so I'm happy. I will always want to do better with my time.. But I suppose that can be worked on.

First of all, let me say that the website LIED about the course.. It is a qualifying race for the Peachtree Roadrace, which is intense. So that should have been a clue. But the website says: "The course is mostly flat and very fast with only one small hill." Lies! We got to the first hill and I thought.. Oh, sweet! This must be the "one small hill." Then we get to another hill and I'm like... What the French toast?! There were multiple hills. And it was an extremely hot day. I think it was a combination of the two that did me in.

At one point, I was running with my earphones.. And a lady who was next to me waved hi. And I'm like.. Uh, hi. And she motions for me to take my earphones out. Since everyone mistakenly thinks they know me from somewhere, of course it would happen again during a 5k in Buford, GA. The lady was like, "Are you Destiny's mom?!" Umm... For one thing, Destiny better be an infant. How old do you think I am?! Rude. Back off lady, I'm in the zone! So she trotted off...

There were also some interesting folks along the course.. It went through a residential area in downtown Buford. An old man was out in his driveway in a powder blue bathrobe & a coffee mug. He was just getting his paper and waving and talking to everyone who went by. STRANGE. Someone asked if he was a flasher. haha NO, thank goodness.

There were also people who had registered to walk and not run. I guess the walking course was more like 1.5 miles whereas the running course was 3.1 miles. So I get to a fork and man says "Walkers to the left, runners to the right!" The finish line is looming just to the left for the walkers! I have to admit, for a split second, I almost decided to say "See ya, suckers!" and veer left.... But my conscience got the better of me and I went right... The last stretch was a doozy.

Let me just say.. I am no runner. Yes, I do Tread & Shed and I'm in much better shape than I was a few months ago. But I'm lugging like 100 more lbs. than everyone else up these hills in the extreme heat. It's hard! I always feel like I could have done better afterwards. But in the moment, I was doing the best I could.. People kept passing me. And every time I turned around to check, there were less and less people behind me. Finally, I come down a hill and the guy tells me I just have to go around the curve and then it's a straight shot to the finish and that I'm doing great.

So I pick up the pace and start running again. Then I see the 3 mile marker and I know I only have 0.1 miles to go. I went down one more hill towards the finish line. There was only one group of a few people behind me.. But as I started to get closer to the finish line, everyone is standing on the sidewalk cheering loudly. Like literally everyone. Hundreds of people. And then I hear, "Go, Lizzie!" It was great to hear everyone cheering me on. But when I heard my friends & family, that was the extra boost I needed to cross the finish line. They met me at the end, and I think we ALL got a little teary eyed! It feels great to finish something like that!

Props to Maggie, Sam, Sandra & Consuella. I think we all did great. :)

Me and Sam before the race. Sans makeup!

Me & Maggie. She's teeny! I'm... working on it.

Friday, June 04, 2010

Jersey Sweat

I don't really want to blog..... But it's Friday. I lost ONE lb. One stinking lb.

I'm headed to Atlanta this weekend. We're doing a 5k in Buford on Saturday morning. If anyone else wants to Run the Rails, come on out! I'm kind of worried about what my time will be. A normal person's time would be around 30-ish minutes. I'm scared mine will be more like an hour... I'd be happy with under 45 minutes. But I'm not holding my breath. I hope I do okay! At least I'll have a spiffy new outfit to wear.. I found 3 workout shirts while I was cleaning my closet. They're brand new with the tags that didn't fit before! I've been saving the blue one (my favorite color) for the race. So that's somewhat comforting.. If there is any comfort to be found in running 3.1 miles for the "fun" of it.

I did Tread & Shed last night. Jersey Shore was to my left. He opted to just run instead of doing leg lifts & walking lunges n' such. Guess they don't do those in Jersey. Ginger Gladiator came up to tease him about taking Tread & Shed. RUDE. Ain't nothin' girly about running and sweating your butt off, sweetheart. You should try it sometime. When we turned to the left to do leg lifts on that side, I saw that the left side of MY treadmill was covered in Jersey Shore's dripping sweat! I think I threw up in my mouth a little. So gross. He could have been flinging it on me the whole time! In fact, I'm pretty sure I had to have ended up with some of his DNA on me. SO gross. He wiped up his own treadmill after class, but not where he had soiled mine. Like I wouldn't notice. Eww. Note to self: Stay away from Jersey Shore next time. Wait, that was already a rule, wasn't it?

Oh, we did see Salt & Pepper though! That was probably the highlight. He was on the elliptical in front of us. I was just watching those legs go... And I ran on a 6.0 last night! For like 20 seconds. Ha. I swear, that's like super fast for my little legs. About as fast as I can handle.

Ooookay, well that's about all. I'm wearing my glasses today so I'm kind of headache-y and blah. I'm excited to see some family this weekend. I hope someone notices a difference in me!

Tuesday, June 01, 2010

Let's Talk About Sweat, Baby

I just got home from the gym. I worked harder than a one legged man in a butt kicking contest. I'm happy I was able to wear a new workout shirt from my closet that used to be too small! But my ENTIRE back was covered in sweat when I looked in the mirror at the gym. I don't know what possessed me to take, much less POST, these pics. I guess as proof that I am working hard. And I'm feeling rather candid at the mo. Ha.

Okay, not too bad. You can see a little neckline sweat & your general pit sweat. Fairly normal. It gets better.


Now, the back. I don't think you can even tell how sweaty it is at the top too. Waaaait, the best is yet to come.

Boob sweat! Now WHAT is up with that? And it's always only one boob. Bertha, to be exact.


And now you know my sweating oddities. Aren't you glad? I'm headed to Atlanta this weekend. And running in a 5K with Maggie & Sandra! Go, me! Toodles for now.

Friday, May 28, 2010

The Big 3-0!

No, not 30 years old. Lord, how old do you think I am?! I lost 4 more lbs. this week. So I'm at 30 lbs now! Go, me! I think I can finally start to tell in my face some. Every time I try to take pictures, I think they look gross.. So maybe when I get my hair did later this month, I'll post new pics.

I'm still plugging along! Madeline's coming to visit this weekend. I'm excited to see her and hang out. I'm kind of worried about the eating out situation though?? I haven't eaten out since I went to Atlanta. Eek! BUT I know that I'm a changed woman and if something happens, I'll hop right back on track. But I don't plan on going hog wild!

And I'm soooooo happy to have Monday off! Yay, yay, yay!! I need a break from work! My plans are to sleep in and then shop all day. :) I hope I can find some cute new clothes. And I think I might reward myself with a new purse?!

Happy Friday, everyone!

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Cleaning Out My Closet

Okay, lately my clothes have started to look ridiculous on me. They're just baggy in the wrong places. I look like a hobo. I know, I know.. To have such problems! But I just felt like instead of feeling better about myself as I lose weight, I feel worse about my appearance because I look like a slob.

Almost two months ago, I tried on some clothes in my closet that I was hoping I'd fit into again. No luck. I have been afraid of that happening again, so I haven't touched them in a couple months. But last night I got up the courage to try some of them on again.

I discovered two pairs of badly needed jeans that fit again and a few tops. I found 3 pairs of Old Navy Jeans (Two are brand new with tags!) that ALMOST fit. Soon, I think. I will blame that on Old Navy's sizes running a tad small. And I found 3 pairs of jean capris that almost fit. Hopefully, they will fit this summer! I tried on lots of old tops that either fit or are too big. I found tons of things still with tags on them. It's crazy! I think I'd buy things that almost fit thinking it would motivate me to lose weight.. And then clearly, I never did.

But another thing that surprised me was that I have so many clothes that I've been holding on to for 9 or 10 years!! It was neat to see some of my old standbys.. But on the other hand, some of it was so outdated or raggedy I was like.. WHY do I still have this?! I had clothes from high school in there. Clothes that were over 5 years old, still with the tags on them. It's like it was comforting to just HAVE them or something? Maybe it comes from feeling like I don't fit into anything and don't have anything to wear... But having a full closet made me feel better? Even if those things didn't actually fit.. It's like I had choices.

My closet is filled to the brim. The section of clothes I actually wear is FAR smaller than the ones I do not. Not to mention the shelf up high that I can't even reach with my T-Rex arms. If you have been banished to that shelf.. It's a safe bet you don't get worn regularly. I only tried on like a third of the old things in there.. (I will need a chair to reach the rest!) But already I can tell that I will be getting rid of A LOT of things. Probably half my closet! It's quite liberating. I feel like I'm shedding the old me.

Oh, one highlight - Before winter, I tried on an old jacket I've had FOREVER and it did not fit. I couldn't zip it up. It's blue with aqua blue stripes up the sleeves. I've had it since... Ohhh.. Circa 2001? Probably in every picture of me from 2001-2006, I am wearing that jacket. So I tried it on last night thinking it still wouldn't fit.. But lo and behold, it zipped up with no problem! I am getting rid of probably everything else from that era... But I think I have to keep my beloved jacket. I will actually wear it again. :)

I still want to go shopping - Maybe Monday with the sales! But I want to bring in some new things that I can wear as I lose weight and get rid of a lot of old things. Note to my readers: You are being cruel to yourself if you keep an entire closet full of too small clothes, hoping you'll fit into them again one day! Ditch them! You're torturing yourself every time you open those doors! The same goes with huge clothes you've outgrown. For goodness sake, get rid of them! Do a little shopping and you will feel better about yourself.

You'll be happy to know that today I'm wearing a "new" shirt & jeans that fit again. :) And I put the stack of all those jeans in the middle of my room as motivation since I'm actually losing weight now and not hoping I'll lose weight. I think I'm going to break the 3-0 barrier on Friday! We'll see. :)

Friday, May 21, 2010

You can't see me, but I'm stirring the pot.

I lost 4 lbs! So that's 26 lbs. total! I'm so close to 30! Maybe next week?? Yaaay! I feel so good. I'm so happy I broke through that barrier, finally!

Last night at Tread & Shed was good. I burned 623 calories. Tough stuff. I didn't do ALL the running.. Which Maggie called me out for. We'd run a minute, walk a minute and then bump up the incline one. All the way to 10.0. I can do the ones on the lower incline. But 5.0 is about my limit. I mean, who runs on a 10.0?! Besides Maggie. So I did the first ones and then the last ones when we were coming back down. That's still a lot of running for me, and the most calories I've ever burned in Tread & Shed. So I'm happy with that. :)

I don't know WHAT it is with me in that class.. I think I'm too nice or something. But everyone wants to talk to me. This kid who looked like he was about 12 was on the treadmill next to me trying to chat it up. He was wearing a Navy basic training tee though, so I suppose he was at least 18. But he looked like a baby. He was telling me how this is the first time he's taken the class and it's harder than it looks.. And something about a "runner's high"?? What is it with me and the Navy boys?? The hottie from the concert was ex-Navy too. ::Sniff::

The diet is going awesome. I'm following everything to the letter, scouts honor. I've just been making my own meals in advance. I cook enough chicken for the week and make my breakfast/lunch the night before. It's basically just lean meat, raw or steamed vegetables, fruits.. But I can have bread, rice, & starches. So it's not like I'm deprived of anything. It's kind of funny.. I get like all excited about my rice cakes for a snack or my fruit. Everything seems to taste better. And even this morning I was like.. I get JELLY! On my toast! haha And.. salt fiend that I am.. I have even cut out the salt. Shocking, I know. And I drink WATER like nobody's business!

Thanks, everyone, for the encouraging comments. :) Until next time.........

Friday, May 14, 2010

BLAH!

No, literally. I just puked at work for no reason. Maybe it's because I was disgusted with the scale this morning. More specifically the lack of movement?! SAME! UGH! It's driving me nuts. I don't really understand because I've been good all week. I worked out. I even tried a new class. So WHAT GIVES?! I'm so over it! The thing is - I can't really pinpoint one thing I'm doing totally wrong. If I was, I'd admit it - seeing as how I have a public blog. (You all know far too much about me already.) But if anything, I feel like I've been better about food this week & getting in enough water.. So whatever. ::Frowny face:: I have got to start that new diet on Monday. Maggie, are you cheering?

Well, despite my scale failures... (Scale-ures?) I did have a great workout last night. Our friend, Kim, taught Tread & Shed. It's always nice to have someone new who changes it up. Oh and the best part.. I got to try out my new sports bra! It was great! B&B have never sat so high up before! They were locked and loaded. Maybe it's because I was pumped about the bra.. Or maybe it really was because of the bra.. But running was so much easier! It was amazing! I wasn't having to hold onto my boobs the whole time. It didn't hurt. Freeeee! I usually have to rest in between the sprints.. But not last night. I ran for longer than I've ever been able to. And on the very last run she told us to bump up our speed and push it out for the last sprint. Dare I?? I usually run between 4.5 - 4.8 because that's about when I start to think if it's any faster I'll roll off the back. But I bumped it up to 5.0! May not sound like much.. But it's a milestone for me. :) I'll try to start at a 5.0 next time and work my way up.

Ginger Gladiator was faithfully present, as always. Nice arms. I'm afraid Original Gladiator is sick or something?! I haven't seen him in like 2 weeks. Maybe I should make a house call... OH and on the way out.. I saw a guy on the treadmill with THE WHITEST legs I've ever seen! I made Maggie turn around and look. She said he rivaled even Middle Aged Balding Kip. He seriously had ghost crab legs..


Well, that's all for now... I'll try not to wallow & womit (As they say in Romania) anymore. The only bright spot in my day is that I'm leaving for Atlanta after work! Sandra, see you soon! :)

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

I'm Training to Become a Cage Fighter

Hello, blog readers! Well, I went to the gym after work today. I was late for Tread & Shed but I caught the last half. I didn't get a treadmill near Maggie because the class was full. There was a very jolly large fellow to my right. He didn't hit me up with too much annoying small talk. But he did try to chit chat a bit. I ran more & longer than I have been able to before. About 10 minutes into it, I thought I started to smell myself. I was like, what the french toast?! I JUST reapplied deo when I changed at the gym! But upon leaning ever so slightly to my right, I realized the scent was not, in fact, emanating from me. Whew. Jolly Large Fellow was gettin' his sweat on..

After Tread & Shed, Maggie and I did Group Power. (AN HOUR OF WEIGHTS!) Shannon taught both classes. She's my fave instructor. I've done Group Power before at this gym and also at Gold's Gym in Georgia. I just remembered not really being a fan of it. It's haaard. ::whine, whine:: I think it was a good class though. It was borderline too hard, but I did it.

Ugh, I have such terrible balance though! Does that get better with practice? I think it's due to my extremely short legs. I am like almost three inches taller than Maggie, but if we sit on the floor and stretch our legs out, they're the exact same length! I'm a freak of nature. Shannon asked me if I was going to take the class every Tuesday & Thursday after after Tread & Shed. Umm.. Maybe.

Oh, side note - The room is surrounded by panels of mirrors. If you stand right in the middle where two panels come together, it does this weird mirror trick thing and makes you look really skinny. I do that every time I go to the gym. :) Also, while we were laying on our backs doing ungodly things with weights, I caught my reflection and noticed my tummy looked flatter. :)

Oh and not only was Grotesque Sweaty Man in the class.. But also a new species. I don't know any other way to describe him but a balding, middle aged version of Kip from Napoleon Dynamite.. He was a Ginger who probably weighed 98 lbs. soaking wet with noodle arms and chicken legs.. A direct quote from Maggie: "I don't know where his pasty white leg ends and his tube sock begins." It was that bad. He had these huge tube socks pulled up to his knees. I think I've seen him on the treadmill before with a weight vest on? I don't understand. He's so pitiful, bless his heart. If anyone needs to be pumping iron, it's him.

Well, I'm hoping for a good weigh in this Friday!! I will keep you updated! :)

Friday, May 07, 2010

Friday Weigh In

I lost another 2 lbs. So that that's 22 lbs. total! I'll take it! These last two lbs. were difficult for some reason.. But feel like I'm doing good now!

I got my hair did last night. Sooo excited about that! I got some blonde put back into it for the summer. :) I'm trying to let it grow out some, so no cut this time. I was more excited about getting my eyebrows done than anything. They were practically at cavewoman status. But Gene told me never to touch my own eyebrows again, so I listened!

Saturday we're having a Mexican fiesta (hehe) and Sunday I'm going to the beach with some friends. I'm ready for summer! And a vacation!

Moi - New hair! (And eyebrows) :)

Tuesday, May 04, 2010

STOP THE PRESSES!

Okay, first order of business.. I fit into my sports bras! I bought them a couple months ago in preparation for the Bridge Run. Well, at Bridge Run time, neither of them fit! I looked and looked in stores for a sports bra big enough to contain B & B. They were all flimsy material that did nothing but give me a uni-boob. Finally, I found some sports bras on www.championusa.com that were for big boobalas! They actually have underwire. ::cheering:: QUITE necessary when your girls are as big as mine & you're working out. So I was really disappointed when I got them in the mail and they didn't fit. Well, one mostly fit and the other one almost fit.

I tried them on a couple nights ago and they both fit! B & B are so happy in their new home! They don't know what to do with themselves being in such close quarters. One of the bras goes over your head and then has extra snaps in the back for support. And the other one goes on like a regular bra with the snaps. That one is the easy one. The one that goes over your head is a little more difficult. It FITS but it's slightly challenging to get in and out of until I lose some back fat. I practically boxed my own ears getting out of it. I never understood that term until now.

But the important thing is that they fit! B & B will thank me! I've been exercising in regular bras. Which has been okay... but that has made running a little difficult.. Thus holding my boobs so it doesn't hurt, as evidenced by my Bridge Run pictures. No more! Can't wait to actually try them out. :)

Tonight was Tread & Shed. I noticed that I went half a mile further than I normally do.. Maggie did too. I guess we ran more, I dunno! I'll take it though. There was a weird creeper on the treadmill next to me though. He was wearing regular clothes.. Jeans and dressy shoes. And he kept trying to talk to me. "It's hot in here, huh?" Umm.. yeah. "Look, you've burned over 500 calories now!" Thanks? Eww. Stop talking to me! I don't even have a witty nickname for him. Just Creeper. Ginger Gladiator & Salt & Pepper were my only hotties that made an appearance tonight. I wanted to see the original Gladiator!! Wahhh. Where are you and your perfect arms?! Show yourself!

Everything is going good! Weigh in Friday!

P.S. This song makes me happy! Enjoy! :)

Friday, April 30, 2010

I Hate Mother Nature


I'm blaming her for staying the same this week... It makes me think of the annoying Mother Nature lady in the green suit from the Tampax commercials. (That woman is perfect for that role, by the way..) I am a little disappointed. But next week has got to be better!

We had a good workout at the gym last night. I tripped and almost fell off the treadmill while watching Salt & Pepper get his elliptical on. (Which Maggie laughed at me for.) He is just too darn cute! And he has lovely triceps.. I also ogled Ginger Gladiator's arms for awhile. I wish the original Gladiator was there last night too! They all work out in the same area.. I was hoping for a Trifecta of Manliness.

Oh, speaking of Ginger Gladiator.. I am a little disappointed in him. I saw him chatting it up with the Jersey Shore guys last night. Are they friends?! Ick. And speaking of the Jersey Shore guys.. I had a run in with the uglier of the two. We were doing side leg lifts on the treadmill.. and lifting a weight with the same arm.. And he walks behind my treadmill and goes, "Now don't kick me when I walk by! Heh." Really? I have the shortest legs in the world. The possibility of that happening is slim to none. Unless you want to get a little closer, and then I'd be happy to kick you. Was that your attempt at humor? Go back to the boardwalk.

I have a new guy to add to the Field Guide! I present to you... Grotesque Sweaty Man! "Grotesque" was Maggie's description of this unfortunate fellow. He sweats more than anyone I've ever seen. He'll get on the treadmill next to you and run for half an hour while dripping sweat all over the place. When he's done, he's literally wiping sweat up off the floor and the treadmill belt. It's really nasty. I mean, kudos to you for working on your fitness and all... But I think he has a glandular problem, for real. Might want to get that checked out, buddy.

Anyway.. The workout was good and went by fast because of all our laughing and chatting. And I was even vindicated when just before we left, Maggie tripped and almost fell too. hehe Love ya!

Wednesday, April 28, 2010

Clash of the... Treadmills?

Good morning! Time for a mid-week update. Last night was Tread & Shed with my favorite instructor, Shannon. I don't know what got into her, but she decided to change things up last night and make it harder. She made us do the usual sprints, jogs, lunges, squats, leg lifts, etc.. But the real kicker was when she made us get off the treadmill in groups and crouch down and do side shuffles across the entire length of the gym and all the way back. It looked like a football training move or something. They were so hard! Not to mention that Ginger Gladiator was doing weights right in front of me as Betsey, Bertha, and I jiggled on by. Embarrassing much? But it sure got my heart rate up.

The Jersey Shore guy (who was ogling Maggie stretching before class) wouldn't do it! He made some whiny comment about how he was jogging and he didn't want to mess up his pace and time and blah, blah. Umm... Sorry Vinny, or whatever your name is, but those were HARDER than the sprint and definitely got the blood pumping. He just was embarrassed and didn't want to look stupid. Well, ya know what... Strength in numbers. We were ALL doing it! I'll be the first to tell you, when it comes to working out I'm freaked out by trying new things. But I did it! You just got shown up by a chubby white girl... oh, and the whole rest of the class.

Then Shannon had us get behind the treadmill and do squats where you leap up and power lunges.. And who needs a 10 minute cool down when you can run a 10 minute mile at the end of class instead?? If you were near death (as I was), the option was to do a fast walk on a 10.0 incline for the 10 minutes. And why stop there! After turning the treadmill off, we had to run manually. Do you know how hard it is to make a stopped treadmill belt move? Yeahhh.. I literally thought I might vomit after that class. She hasn't made me want to puke since the first class! I was even more sweaty and red faced than usual.

But I didn't have time to relax when I got home. I had to hurry and shower & change so we could go see a movie. Clash of the Titans! Sam Worthington... that man... Oh my word. The things I would do. Aaaanyway, I brought my own 94% fat free popcorn and Diet Coke. The guys bought popcorn and Cokes there. Want to hear something disgusting? A SMALL buttered popcorn is 630 calories and 50 grams of fat! How is that legal? And then I would have gotten a huge Cherry Coke for 310 calories. That's insane! That's 940 calories and not even including dinner I'd have either before or after. It's pretty sickening to think about.

Afterwards, the guys wanted to go to Buffalo's for beer and wings.. No real temptation there. I didn't want to drink since I had to work today. And while I like buffalo sauce and the flavor on chicken or something.. I am not interested in chewing on chicken bones. A lot of work for a little meat just so you can get filthy and greasy. No, thanks. As my Grandmommie says, "Honey, those are the parts I throw away before I cook the chicken." So I had three huge glasses of water with lemon instead. I drank two bottles of water at the gym and two at work. I definitely met my water quota yesterday.

I'm happy I'm back on track! Yesterday was a good day. :) I'm hoping for a decent weigh in on Friday!




Friday, April 23, 2010

Everyone Should Name Their Lady Lumps

An actual email conversation between me and Sandra yesterday:

-----------------------------------------------
Sandra - So you’ll be very happy… tomorrow I’m wearing my flowing black skirt with my black and white pumps and….. wait for it….. wait… wait…… A FUCHSIA COLORED KNIT TOP!!!

Me - Ok... give me a second.. I just fainted. (*Sandra's wardrobe consists of black, white and more black.)

Sandra - LOL! SHUT UP!! The Destiny's Child song just popped into my head.. "Can you handle this? I don't think you can handle this!" Te he he. I'm so scared my boobs will look huge but my waist is smaller and I'm lovin' that!

Me - "I don't think you're ready for this jelly..." Your boobs ARE huge, dear. Work it!

Sandra - UGH! Whatever! You’re right! I’m definitely wearing it!

Me - PLEASE take a pic! Do you think you can handle it?? You know you'll get 564351321 compliments tomorrow. It might help if you name them.

Sandra - Spanish names??

Me - Sure! One should def. be Lupe. What goes with Lupe?

Sandra - NO! NO LUPE! I hate that name! pick again!

Me - Lupe is a great boob name! We're not picking out your middle name! These are for boobs! Okay, fine.. Ummm.... Rosalita? *(Sandra has no middle name and we've been trying to come up with one for the last two years.)

Sandra - YES love Rosalita…. Te he he

Me - Rosalita and Rosalinda?

Sandra - Leigh Ann said Carmelita!!

Me - Is that even a name?

Sandra - Yeah.. Carmen..

Me - Sounds like a dessert.

Sandra - Okay Rosalinda and Rosalita!

Me - Is it weird that I named your boobs?

Sandra - No, if you were Catholic, I'd let you baptize them.

Me - hahaha That's great. We could still have some sort of ceremony.

Sandra - You could sprinkle some vodka on them.

Me - Yes, we should totally do that.

Sandra - Can I throw a shower for that?

Me - Sure! Everyone has to bring a present!

Sandra - For me, of course! No bras!
-------------------------------------------

So, my friends. This is when I decided that everyone should have names for theirs. You know mine are Betsey & Bertha. Sandra's are now dubbed Rosalita y Rosalinda. Renee admitted hers are the Olsen Twins. If yours have names, post them in your comment. If not, make some up! :)

Weigh in update... SAME! Blah. :( But hopefully getting back into my workout routine will help! I did see Gladiator & Ginger Gladiator at the gym last night. Gladiator... Oh.. my.. word.. That man's arms are off the charts. Whew. Maggie can attest to that!

I can't wait to read your comments!

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

That Witty Title Still Hasn't Come to Me

Hola, chicas. Sorry I've been M.I.A. Spring Break week was a busy one for me with my nieces in town. Last weekend I had company of my lovely cousin. And besides that.. I've just had a lot of stuff going on. I will tell you one thing.. I am officially emotionally drained and ready to move forward! I'm not letting things get me down necessarily. But it's just hard to overcome something when it's constantly in your face everyday.

Things haven't been all bad. One highlight.. I won tickets to a free Uncle Kracker & Rehab concert last week. While they are not my favorite bands and I only knew a few songs, it was so much fun! Even despite being the D.D.! I wore a pink cotton dress that did wonders for Betsey & Bertha. (My boobs! Betsey is the left one and Bertha is the right because she's just a tad bigger than Betsey.) I must admit that I looked really cute. The highlight was definitely a tall cutie vying for my attention all night. It made me happy to no end that he was not all over my sister (as they usually are) and he was actually interested in me. A really cute guy liked me! Quite the ego boost!

And besides that, I felt liberated after my crappy week.. I am a young, single woman and I can go to a concert on a Monday night if I feel like it! I'm not tied down and I don't have to answer to anyone. This is what I SHOULD be doing in my 20's. And it doesn't hurt that there's a hottie by my side offering to buy me drinks.. I still turned into a pumpkin at midnight.. Because Tall Hottie is not my dream man. (Although he was dreamy.) But it was fun. :)

Back to the grind this week though. I have been doing fine on my diet but definitely slacking in the gym area. So last night I went to Tread & Shed. UGH. It kicked my butt! It's like starting over. It was good though. I burned a little over 600 calories. Sadly, I did not see Salt & Pepper. I did see Ginger Gladiator though. My back was all sweaty by that time, so I'm sure I didn't impress him.

I wish I didn't look so gross after a work out. I definitely do not "glow" - I full on sweat. And my face turns bright red. My hair sticks up all over the place. I look like I'm about to go into cardiac arrest. I see these cute little girls at the gym in their matching outfits prancing around after a workout like it was nothing. Will that ever happen for me? Maybe the matching outfits part. I can't wait until I get skinnier so I can buy some cute gym clothes!

Sooo... I have to admit. I have not weighed myself in like two weeks! I've been scared to. I guess because I slacked off at the gym. BUT I promise to weigh in Friday. EEK!

Friday, April 02, 2010

hahahaha

Just saw my race pics. They are not post-able. I'm holding my boobs as I run! hahaha Yeahhh, the sports bras I bought before the race still don't quite fit. Sooo.. I had to do something so the girls weren't jiggling around too much! Wow. My first race and the photos are obscene. ;)

Okay, here's that funny story I promised. Rachel was riding in my car the other day.. And out of the blue she blurts, "You need to find a boyfriend!" After all the laughter died down, I asked her WHY she said that. And she said, "Because you want to get married and you live with your GRANDPA!" I was like.. Excuuuse me, he's YOUR Grandpa, my dad. And so I asked her who I should marry. And she said, "I don't know. I don't know people YOUR AGE." Like I'm so old.. She promised to keep her eyes peeled for me. I'm workin' on it, sweetheart. ;)

Say what?

I don't know how it's possible.. Maybe because I didn't feel good last night and went to bed without dinner.. But I weighed myself this morning and I've lost 4 lbs! That's 20 lbs. total! I'm still kind of in shock! But it's a good shock. :) Finally! It feels good after staying the same for a couple weeks. And 20 lbs, HELLO! That's kind of a big deal. ;)

The race pictures still aren't posted! I'm kind of bummed about that. But I'll keep checking throughout the day. I think today is going to be a good day!! :) Happy Friday!!

Thursday, April 01, 2010

Field Guide to the Hot (And not so hot) Guys @ Pivotal Fitness

  • The Jersey Shore Guys - This type of male should be avoided at all costs. They can frequently be seen in pairs, as their egos need constant stroking. They consider themselves to be Italian stallions and God's gift to women. The are usually too bulky, and as a result, have problems walking like a normal human being. This is what we refer to as a Monet. It looks good from far away, but up close it's one big mess. Look closely (if you dare), and you will find that the Jersey Shore Guys are not at all hot. You can find them grunting in true neanderthal fashion as they lift weights that are far too heavy for them to handle, in the hopes that they will be seen by others doing said reps. Beware, ladies. The Jersey Shore Guys might try to make an appearance in your treadmill/aerobics class. Actual quote: "Yee-ah, we're only takin' this clay-us bee-cawz we heard there might be some hawt chicks in hee-ya." How they ended up in South Carolina is still a mystery, pending investigation. In the words of Miss Pitty-Pat from Gone With the Wind, "Yankees in Georgia? How did they ever get in!"

  • The Gladiator - My favorite eye candy at the gym. The Gladiator has perfectly formed arms. He likes to wear sleeveless shirts to show off his buff Arms of Manliness. Unlike the Jersey Shore Guys, this is acceptable because The Gladiator is indeed hot. You can find him at the pull-up machine doing countless reps. I recommend finding a good perch on the treadmill to watch this elusive creature. You will find your eyes going up and down in sync with the pull-up machine. The Gladiator knows he's hot and will smile back if he catches you staring at him.

  • Salt & Pepper - Salt & Pepper is a hot, prematurely graying guy in his 30's. He does not have huge arms like The Gladiator, but he looks like a more approachable, normal guy. Salt & Pepper doesn't know he's hot, and that's half of his charm. He usually hops on a vacant treadmill a little more than half way through Tread & Shed. If I'm lucky, it's one next to me. I take extra delight in stretching slowly after class when he's about 8 inches away from me.

  • The Ginger Gladiator - Much like the original Gladiator, but in Ginger form. Surprisingly attractive & always on the elliptical or doing pull-ups. I had the pleasure of being on a treadmill behind him while he worked out on the elliptical on Monday. I had a fabulous view of his amazing arms and muscle-y back. And let me just say.. All that ellipticalling has been good for his glutes.

  • The Off Duty Cops - Not hot. And just a little FYI - If you can see me, I can also see you! Stop staring at me from the other side of the gym while you're resting in between doing reps. (You do more resting than actual reps.) You're balding and paunchy and probably thinking about your next donut. You only have a gym membership because you get some sort of cop discount and you feel special rolling up in your Crown Vic. You know who you are.

I hope these definitions will give you ladies a little more insight into the guys at my gym. So the next time I mention "Salt & Pepper", you'll know exactly who I'm talking about. :)

Take My Eyes, But Not My Diet Coke!

Hello, readers! First of all, I wanted to give a shout out to my friend, Dalys. She's started her own weight loss blog. Check it out! http://dalyoliva.blogspot.com/ You'll do great on your 5k, chica!! I might become a zealot and recommend that everyone sign up for a race to motivate themselves. ;) I really feel like if I can do it, anyone can! You'll surprise yourself. :)

Also - If I have any other lurkers out there, PLEASE feel free to leave comments & pass my blog along! I eat it up! I love getting feedback from you all. Comments = Happy Liz = More blog posts. :)

Okay, here's the dealio. I've been doing good exercising.. and I've been doing OKAY with my food. Like, I haven't been pigging out or anything or eating horribly. But I've just been snacking too much, I think. This has led to me pretty much maintaining my weight. I need to get more strict with my diet. I think I'm going to start next week with a new meal plan!

The first week is sort of a detox BUT this is not some unhealthy, fad diet. It mainly just cuts out processed foods and you stick to protein & fresh fruit/veggies. You eat a few small meals a day and it's PLENTY of food, which I like. The only thing I might have an issue with is the no caffeine thing for the first week. Eeeek! Caffeine is my friend! Me and Diet Coke are like this (::fingers crossed::). But I have been advised that if you have a serious caffeine addiction you can try to wean yourself slowly off the stuff instead of going cold turkey. I apologize in advance for possibly becoming a snarling beast next week. I watch "Intervention", okay. I know what a crackhead without their crack looks/acts like.

I am going to weigh in tomorrow, as usual. EEK! I promise to post the results whether it's good, bad, or ugly.... I am also DYING to see my individual race pics! They say they will be posted by tomorrow! I hope it looks decent! If it's not too horrible, I might post it. No promises!

Sunday, March 28, 2010

Living to Tell About It

Favorite Quote of the Day: " I don't know where my boobs stop and my torso begins." ~Me trying to pin my bib to my "torso" as the instructions stated.

Favorite Moment of the Day: Tossing paper cups on the ground after I chugged water.

The Bridge Run was awesome! I'm so glad I got to do with Eileen, Maggie, Jennifer, Renee, & Sandra. :) I was terrified! 33,042 people finished. Ed & Heba from The Biggest Loser were there. We saw people dressed up in all sorts of costumes. The dude dressed as a champagne bottle was actually surprisingly fast. There were a few banana costumes, a hotdog, brides & grooms, lots of tutus & striped knee socks, fairies, etc. It was exciting! Oh, and it was FREEZING when we first got there! As soon as we got in line with tens of thousands of other bodies, you could immediately feel the body heat though. Kinda gross, but we welcomed it at that point.

Once the race began, it took almost 15 minutes for us to even get up to the start line because there were so many people! We decided to split up and each just do our best. I started off jogging. Adrenaline is an amazing thing.. It was about two miles until we got to the bridge. It was neat to go over Shem Creek and RUN by things I usually drive by. Once I got to the bridge I walked up the incline. At about the two mile marker I saw a lady getting medical assistance. I guess she was about to pass out. At about the two and a half mile marker, there were medics ready with a stretcher.. I thought about taking a dive at that point so I could get carried away myself.

Getting to the top of the bridge felt great. I started to get semi-emotional at mile 4. I was thinking.. I'm really doing this! I'm choosing me! Walking down the bridge was exhilarating. I had to pee sooo bad and at the bottom of the bridge were some porta potties. The line was HUGE though so I refused to stop. I was still worried about coming in last, so I thought... At least I'll be ahead of all the porta potty people. I knew some of my own peeps were ahead of me.. And SOME of them have weak bladders. So I was half hoping one of them would be in line and I could WHIZ BY (pun intended) and be like.. Peace out, sucka!!

I felt like I had been walking for waaay more than a mile after we got off the bridge and into downtown Charleston and I hadn't seen the 5 mile marker yet. I thought maybe I just missed it and might be further along. I saw a mile marker coming up and thought... This is it! Mile 6! Only .2 to go! But sadly, it was only mile 5. Mile 5 started to get painful. My hips started to hurt really bad and also my feet. I really had to push myself at that point.

The local hobos came out to support the runners. Nothing like a crackhead telling you, "YOU GO, GIRL! ONLY ONE MILE TO GO! YOU HAVE COME TOO FAR TO QUIT!" You are right, sir! Hobo high-five! Also, the volunteers at the water stations were sooo nice, I have to say. They were very encouraging and they were cheering us on. I looooved tossing my cup on the ground after I chugged water. Hey, if I'm dying here, I should at least be offered the small luxury of being able to litter freely.

There was a funny incident... All of us girls agree.. There are an inordinate amount of hot cops in Charleston. Love it. Anyway, this creepy, goth kid was walking beside me. He asked a cop if the Church's Chicken was open as we passed. (I was very excited to see the Church's landmark because I knew I was nearing the end.) The cop told him no, but the KFC across the street was open. The kid explodes and says, "F*** KFC! I WANT CHURCH'S! I'M DOING PRETTY GOOD HERE FOR A FAT KID!" hahaha The hot cop told him to beat it. *Side note: Maggie spit her water out on Eileen in the car when I was relaying this story after the race. hehe

For the last half mile, an old man was walking with me. He said we were almost to the finish and I said I didn't want to be last. He was like, "Look behind you, honey! There are thousands of people back there! You're far from last." I was like.. Aww! He's right! I could FINALLY see the finish line! I sucked it in and tried to look attractive for my photo that will appear online later. Then I picked up the pace and jogged across the finish line.

It felt so good to finish! My entire body was throbbing at that point. My neck, back, shoulders, hips, shins, knees, ankles, feet, and toes hurt. Oh, and my head. They still hurt actually. Ha. Afterward, there were refreshments and music in Marion Square for the runners. My free bagel made me really happy.

I mostly walked and jogged some, so I was just hoping to get under 2 hrs. My time was 1:55:49. Mission accomplished! I'm still not sure my lower back & hips will ever be the same.. But it was worth it. :)

Friday, March 26, 2010

Impending Doom

The Bridge Run is tomorrow. O..m..g.. WHAT have I gotten myself into?! I must say, I enjoyed the Expo yesterday though to pick up our packets. There were all kinds of samples, freebies, & fluorescent workout wear for sale. I was fine until I got my actual bib with my number on it.. and then the harsh reality set it. I AM GOING TO RUN/WALK 6.2 MILES ON SATURDAY?! What?? Who does that?? Crazy people, that's who.

The lovely gentleman giving free wine samples helped to soothe my nerves. Chardonnay? Yes, please. There were beer samples too, but I figured I'd better stick with the wine. I got many, many drink mix packets for bottled water. So PLEASE let me know if anyone wants some.. I also got a sweet re-useable grocery bag, a frisbee which I promptly gave to my nephew, a couple bottles of water from New Zealand (I don't ask questions), a pack of Pop-Tarts, wildflower seeds, coupons, one tiny bag of pretzels, one temporary tattoo, spice/seasoning samples, some dubious "chocolate" from Atkins, oh and a mini cheese biscuit that was consumed onsite. Not to mention my t-shirt and bag with the race logo. Not too shabby.

I'm trying not to think about tomorrow too much.. I'm as ready as I'll ever be. In case this is my last post.. Thank you, readers. You've been great. I bequeath my purse collection to Sandra & Maggie, to be split evenly.

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Gorilla Feet

Okay, I cannot walk the bridge without coming upon some sort of oddity. At the top, Renee and I saw a barefoot guy taking a rest. And I thought.. Good grief! How can anyone walk the bridge barefoot? And then he proceeds to put these THINGS on his feet that had toes.. and.. Well, just look at the picture.





We were like... Did that really just happen? The only way I can describe them is that it looks like he had gorilla feet! And then on the way down.. We saw this tiny girl running up in them too! I'm simply baffled. Why would you want to run around with gorilla feet? They looked like they were missing the other half of their gorilla costumes.


So I looked up their website. Bee-zarre. And they ain't cheap! Sounds like a bunch of dirty hippies to me..

"Remember going barefoot as a child? It’s the way you first discovered and conquered your world—without the constraint of shoes. Or the sense of duty you acquired later on.



Now you can experience that same physical and visceral sensation in Vibram FiveFingers—the only footwear to offer the exhilarating joy of going barefoot with the protection and sure-footed grip of a Vibram® sole.


FiveFingers footwear connects you to the earth and your surroundings in a way that is simply not possible in conventional shoes. It puts you in touch with the earth beneath your feet and liberates you to move in a more natural, healthy way. FiveFingers stimulate the muscles in your feet and lower legs to build strength and improve range of motion. Our customers report an increased sense of balance, greater agility, and visibly improved posture.

Choose from a variety of designs to cover the wide range of activities you would rather do barefoot—everything from fitness training and yoga, to running and trekking, to kayaking and sailing. Discover a level of performance and a connection to your environment that is positively without peer."


Oh, and I happened upon this gem in their FAQ section.. Haha.


"CAN I WEAR FIVEFINGERS IF I HAVE WEBBED TOES OR SYNDACTYLY?Unfortunately the design of FiveFingers does not accommodate webbed toes or Syndactyly. We are unable to make custom FiveFingers to fit specific foot needs. "


Well, I just don't think I want to buy a product that can't accomodate my webbed feet!


Renee and I walked 3.2 miles yesterday. The bridge run is in two weeks! I think I can? I think I can...



P.S.... Apparently, these are a big deal! I found this pic on their fanpage on Facebook! These people got married in theirs! FRIGHTENING!

Friday, March 12, 2010

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

At laaaast...

Okay, I know it's been a long time since I've blogged. I've been told that an angry mob is forming as I type. Fear not, readers. I am here.

Well, usually my absence denotes diet disaster. However, I have to say I have been pretty good as of late. We went to Myrtle Beach last weekend.. And I did indulge in too many coconut rum infused fruity drinks. But we worked out at the gym in the hotel one day. That's got to count for something, right?

I've just been trying to get myself in bridge run training mode. It is fast approaching. March 27! Eek!! Renee and I walked the bridge on Monday after work. 4.2 miles! (According to Renee's somewhat faulty pedometer. ;) It tries to cheat you half a mile.) We saw some interesting characters up there, as usual. We saw a young guy running toward us in what appeared to be boxer shorts. As his ghostly white legs came into view, we saw that not only were they very short boxers - but boxers with hearts on them. He seemed to be carrying his pants as he jogged. He was running with a buddy. Our best guess was that he lost a bet? Who knows. There are all kinds of weirdies on the bridge. No high fives from ginger cadets this time! Although there was no shortage of strapping cadets with chiseled jaw lines.

Yesterday I did tread & shed with Maggie at the gym. We had a substitute instructor who kinda sucked.. But I still managed to burn close to 500 calories. I plan on taking the class again on Thursday, of course.

As far as weighing in, I've kind of been afraid to! I had maintained my weight when we got back from NY, which is a plus. But after that I didn't weigh myself for over a week! I don't know why.. Just afraid. So as of this morning, I am down a little. But I will reserve my official number for Friday, as usual.

Well, I hope that will tide you people over for awhile. Leave comments! I love them. :)

Tuesday, February 23, 2010

New York was amazing! For your viewing pleasure..

The lovely Sandra. Fit right in @ the Hungarian bakery! The Mexican baker might have had something to do with it..


New York at dusk.. From the Brooklyn Bridge





Me at Serendipity. I won't even tell you what I had there!






Me in Times Square






Brooklyn Bridge






Me on the Brooklyn Bridge






A cute one of me, if I do say so myself.






Central Park - covered in snow!






Sorry, Sandra... Best pic EVER! On the ferry to Ellis Island. Just a bit windy up on the third deck. :)




In our teeny, adorable hotel room.. Scarf on, ready to go!






Columbus Circle... Time Warner Center in the background. Kind of artsy, no? ;)






We went to the American Museum of Natural History... I couldn't help but think of Night at the Museum the whole time.. Say hi to Rexie!






Time Warner Center - Lots of fancy shops!







My fave pic of me... I think I look skinny. ;)


Doing Tread & Shed after work today! Eek! Back to the grind..